AES · NYSE · CIK 0000874761
The AES Corporation
The AES Corporation holds 8 disclosed positions, 6 of them carrying a sourced value and 2 that nobody has sized.
The AES Corporation - Profile
- Sector
- UtilitiesGICS
- Industry
- Cogeneration Services & Small Power ProducersSIC 4991
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 8,336stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from The AES Corporation's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
AES
Description
The AES Corporation is an American utility and power generation company. It owns and operates power plants, which it uses to generate and sell electricity to end users and intermediaries like utilities and industrial facilities. AES, headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is one of the world's leading power companies, generating and distributing electric power in 15 countries and employing 10,500 people worldwide. AES Corporation is a global Fortune 500 power company.
Equity stakes The AES Corporation holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 732 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
732 managers reported a position, together holding 631.1m shares, or 88.5% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 713.2m shares outstanding at 1 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Fluence Energy, Inc. (NASDAQ: FLNC) is the dominant holding and a genuine units-versus-shares trap, handled per this project's guidance: AES's interest is denominated in Fluence Energy, LLC common units paired with non-economic Class B-1 shares (an Up-C structure with Siemens as co-founder), not in the listed Class A. shares is recorded as null with the exact 41,432,781 Class B-1 unit count in method_note. AES sold down from 28% to 22% via a May 2026 unit redemption and public Class A share sale (net proceeds $207 million, pre-tax gain $186 million); this is NOT a completed exit, so a row is retained rather than converted to a note.
- AES Andes S.A. (formerly AES Gener, Chile) is EXCLUDED from holdings, not because it is a listed cross-holding like Loews/CNA, but because AES Andes completed a formal delisting from the Bolsa de Santiago on 17 April 2024 (per AES Andes' own press release, cited by CMF Chile records found via web search) and became a closed corporation (sociedad anonima cerrada) with AES holding 99.5% of shares at that date. AES Andes does not file with the SEC and no more current ownership percentage than 99.5% (17 Apr 2024) could be sourced within this task's scope; given both the near-total ownership and the loss of separately-listed public-float status, this is treated as effectively wholly owned rather than a holding, consistent with the brief's exclusion of wholly owned subsidiaries. This should be revisited if a more current, filed AES Andes ownership figure becomes available.
- AES Brasil was fully divested: AES's FY2025 10-K explicitly references 'the sale of AES Brasil in the prior year' (2024), with net proceeds of $412 million disclosed in the cash flow discussion. This is a completed, dated exit and is recorded here as a note with NO row, per this project's convention.
- Cochrane (Chile, held through AES Andes): AES Andes acquired the remaining preferred shares in February 2026 for $29 million, increasing AES' effective ownership to 100% (per both the Q2 2026 10-Q and FY2025 10-K). Not a holding: fully consolidated, effectively wholly owned as of Feb 2026.
- Bosforo and Cuscatlan (El Salvador): previously equity-method investments; in April 2026 AES acquired the remaining 50% ownership interests for a total of $44 million and both are now fully consolidated by AES. Not a holding as of the Q2 2026 10-Q; excluded as effectively wholly owned.
- AES Indiana (wholly owned by IPALCO Enterprises, Inc., itself an AES subsidiary) and AES Ohio (The Dayton Power & Light Company) are correctly EXCLUDED as operating subsidiaries, but neither is fully AES-owned at the parent level: per the Q2 2026 10-Q's own glossary, 'Beginning in April 2025, CDPQ owns an aggregate indirect equity interest in AES Ohio of approximately 30%' and 'CDPQ owns direct and indirect interests in IPALCO of approximately 30%.' This is a NONCONTROLLING INTEREST running the OTHER way (a third party, Caisse de depot et placement du Quebec, owns a minority stake in AES's own subsidiary) and is explicitly NOT recorded as an AES holding, per this project's guidance not to turn an NCI into a holding.
- Uplight, Inc.: AES agreed in March 2026 to sell its 25% ownership interest and convertible note for up to $40 million (H2 2026 expected close); as of the Q2 2026 10-Q the sale had NOT closed, so a row is retained (value_usd null: equity method was suspended in Q4 2025 and the FY2025 10-K shows the carrying value at $0 as of 31 Dec 2025). This should become a note with no row once the sale closes.
- 'Other affiliates' in AES's FY2025 10-K itemized equity-method table is a genuinely COMBINED balance ($46 million at 2025, $37 million at 2024) covering an unspecified number of smaller, unnamed equity-method investees. Per this project's rule against assigning a combined balance to any one investee, none of these are recorded as individual holdings; the combined figure is noted here and in unknowns rather than modelled onto any named entity.
- AES's 10-Q disclosures also carry a genuinely COMBINED 'Investments in and advances to affiliates' balance sheet total ($885 million at 30 Jun 2026, $1,004 million at 31 Dec 2025) covering ALL equity-method affiliates together; this combined figure is not used to size any individual holding above. The itemized FY2025 10-K table (used for sPower, Grupo Energia Gas Panama, Mesa La Paz, Energia Natural Dominicana Enadom, and Dominican Republic Renewables) sums to $1,004 million at 31 Dec 2025, exactly matching the Dec 2025 combined balance sheet figure, corroborating that the itemized table is complete for that date.
- Register self-gate, computed from this final file exactly as the chart computes it: 10 register rows, none with rolls_up_into (the officers/directors aggregate has no separately listed members, so it counts at its full stated 5,422,504 shares). Total: 248,660,186 shares against shares_outstanding 713,438,630 = 34.85% of the company, within the brief's expected 25% to 45% band.
- Implied per-share price cross-check across institutional Q2 2026 13F rows: Vanguard family approximately $14.66/sh, BlackRock $14.66/sh, State Street $14.66/sh, Geode $14.64/sh, Invesco $14.66/sh, Northern Trust $14.66/sh, Ameriprise $14.66/sh, Capital Group $14.66/sh, T. Rowe Price $14.66/sh (after correcting for its thousands-scaled value field). All nine cluster tightly at $14.64 to $14.66/sh, confirming no unit, share-class, or thousands-scaling error survived on any row.
- No Schedule 13D has ever been filed against AES (CIK 0000874761); all Schedule 13G/13G/A filings found are passive index-manager filings, the most recent dated 13 Nov 2024, roughly stale relative to the Q2 2026 13F data used throughout. No sovereign, strategic, or activist holder was found.
- Morgan Stanley was not included as a register row: this project's own data/registers/AES.json Q1 2026 snapshot lists a 'Morgan Stanley' position of approximately 24.3 million shares, but the two Morgan Stanley-affiliated 13F filers checked directly for Q2 2026 (Morgan Stanley & Co International plc CIK 0000924186, which filed a 13F-NT with no holdings, and Morgan Stanley Institutional Investment Advisors LLC CIK 0002026079, which reported only 5 total positions and none in AES) do not account for it; the specific filing entity carrying Morgan Stanley's larger position could not be identified within this task's scope and is left as an unknown rather than guessed.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Fluence Energy's current GAAP carrying value on AES's own balance sheet post-May-2026-sell-down is not separately disclosed; the $500.1 million recorded here is a modelled market-equivalent estimate at FLNC's 19 Aug 2026 close, not a filed figure.
- AES Andes S.A.'s exact current ownership percentage (more recent than 99.5% as of 17 Apr 2024, the delisting date) could not be sourced; AES Andes does not file with the SEC and no more current figure was found within this task's scope.
- The identity and sizing of the individual entities inside AES's 'Other affiliates' combined equity-method bucket ($46 million at 31 Dec 2025) is not disclosed in the FY2025 10-K or Q2 2026 10-Q.
- The specific 13F filing entity responsible for the approximately 24.3 million share 'Morgan Stanley' position shown in this project's own Q1 2026 register snapshot could not be identified; the two Morgan Stanley-affiliated CIKs checked for Q2 2026 do not hold an AES position of that size.
- Whether AES's ~26.6 million share apparent decrease from Ameriprise Financial (33.07 million shares, Q1 2026 snapshot, to 6.44 million shares, Q2 2026 13F-HR read directly) reflects a real portfolio sale or a change in which Ameriprise-affiliated entity files could not be corroborated against a second independent source within this task's scope.
- Exhibit 21 of AES's FY2025 10-K was not checked in this pass (time budget prioritized the itemized equity-method investee table in the 10-K body, which already provided per-entity ownership percentages and carrying values, superseding the need to check Exhibit 21 for the same information).
