ALB · NYSE · CIK 0000915913
Albemarle Corporation
Albemarle Corporation holds 4 disclosed positions, 1 of them carrying a sourced value and 3 that nobody has sized.
Albemarle Corporation - Profile
- Sector
- MaterialsGICS
- Industry
- Plastic Materials, Synth Resins & Nonvulcan ElastomersSIC 2821
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 7,800stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Virginia
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Albemarle Corporation's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
ALB
Description
Albemarle Corporation is an American specialty chemicals manufacturing company based in Charlotte, North Carolina. It serves several different industries including Agriculture/Food, Automotive/EV, Aviation/Aerospace, Building/Construction, Conventional Energy, Electronics, Grid Storage, and Industrial Processes. The company reported over $5.4 Billion in revenue in 2024.
Equity stakes Albemarle Corporation holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 966 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
966 managers reported a position, together holding 108.3m shares, or 91.8% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 117.9m shares outstanding at 29 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Self-gate (computed from this final file, per the brief's formula): 10 register rows, none marked is_aggregate or rolls_up_into (each is either a single filer or a family roll-up with nothing rolling into it), so every row counts at full value. Total 50,444,263 common shares against 118,005,057 shares outstanding = 42.75%. Within the expected 25-45% band.
- Albemarle has two listed equity securities: common stock (CUSIP 012653101, ticker ALB) and 7.25% Series A Mandatory Convertible Preferred Stock depositary shares (CUSIP 012653200, ticker ALB PR A / ALB-PA). All register rows above use COMMON shares only, refetched from each holder's own Q2 2026 (period 30 Jun 2026) 13F-HR information table. Several holders also carry large preferred depositary-share positions that were deliberately excluded as a different instrument (see per-row method_note): Franklin Resources 6,905,351 pfd sh, BlackRock 3,153,502 pfd sh, Two Sigma 2,340,026 pfd sh, Capital World Investors 2,733,416 pfd sh, State Street 704,124 pfd sh, FMR 501,744 pfd sh, JPMorgan 105,414 pfd sh, Capital International Sarl 8,649 pfd sh.
- shares_outstanding (118,005,057) is common stock outstanding as of 29 July 2026, from the cover page of the Q2 2026 10-Q filed 5 Aug 2026, the freshest filing on EDGAR at research time (fresher than the FY2025 10-K, filed 11 Feb 2026, and consistent with the 10-K/A filed 31 Mar 2026 and the DEF 14A's 117,886,887 shares as of 11 Mar 2026).
- Equity-method combined-balance trap, confirmed present in Albemarle's own FY2025 10-K: the 'Joint ventures' investment balance of $819.848 million at 31 Dec 2025 combined Windfield, Nippon Ketjen Company Limited, Eurecat S.A. and Fabrica Carioca de Catalisadores S.A. with no per-entity split. By the Q2 2026 10-Q, Windfield's carrying value is separately disclosed ($985.0 million, the 'most significant VIE'), so it is used directly and is NOT part of a combined figure. The remaining bucket, 'Corporate and all other' equity-method investments, was $38.843 million at 30 Jun 2026 (down from $82.056 million at 31 Dec 2025, which then still included the now-divested Nippon Ketjen and Fabrica Carioca); this likely represents mostly or entirely the new 49% ChemCat Holdings LP (Ketjen JV/'Holdco') stake formed 2 Mar 2026, but since the 10-Q does not name it individually, value_usd for that holding is left null rather than assigned; the $38.843 million figure is recorded here and in unknowns instead of on that holding's row.
- Divested equity-method/preferred positions, no longer holdings as of the Aug 2026 research date, deliberately excluded as rows: Nippon Aluminum Alkyls (50% JV with Mitsui Chemicals, Inc., divested 1 Oct 2025, $14.3 million loss recorded); Eurecat S.A. (50% JV with Axens Group, divested 23 Jan 2026); Nippon Ketjen Company Limited (50% JV with Sumitomo Metal Mining Company Limited, divested 2 Mar 2026 as part of the Refining Solutions Business Transaction); Fabrica Carioca de Catalisadores S.A. (50% JV with Petrobras Quimica S.A./PETROQUISA, divested in the same 2 Mar 2026 transaction); W.R. Grace & Co. subsidiary preferred equity ($270 million stated value, 12% PIK dividend rate, issued 2021, redeemed June 2025 with a $38.0 million loss on redemption).
- The research brief's suggested Windfield/Talison joint-venture partner 'Tianqi and IGO' does not match the filings: Windfield Holdings Pty. Ltd.'s only disclosed joint-venture partner, in every FY2025 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q reference checked, is Sichuan Tianqi Lithium Industries, Inc. (holding the other 51%). No IGO Limited relationship to Windfield or Talison was found in Albemarle's own filings; this appears to be a brief inaccuracy (IGO is a partner in the unrelated Wesfarmers/SQM/IGO Mt Holland lithium project, not an Albemarle venture).
- Jordan Bromine Company Limited (JBC, 50% with Arab Potash Company) is CONSOLIDATED by Albemarle as primary beneficiary, not carried as an equity-method investment; included as a holdings row per the research brief's explicit example and because it is a 50/50 structure rather than a wholly owned subsidiary, but with value_usd null since no separate market value for the 50% interest is disclosed (Albemarle's consolidated balance sheet carries JBC's assets and liabilities at 100%, with APC's 50% as a $248.096 million noncontrolling-interest balance at 31 Dec 2025 that values APC's stake, not Albemarle's).
- MARBL Lithium Joint Venture (50% with Mineral Resources Limited, Wodgina mine) is an unincorporated joint venture / joint operation: Albemarle recognizes its proportionate 50% share of Wodgina's assets, liabilities, production and results directly rather than carrying a discrete equity-method investment balance, so it does not appear in the 'significant unconsolidated investments' table or carry a disclosed dollar value.
- 'All directors and executive officers as a group (19 persons)' held 494,028 shares (0.42% of common stock) per the DEF 14A filed 24 Mar 2026, as of 11 Mar 2026. Not included as a register row: Albemarle has no founder or dual-class structure, and this group is well below the size that would make it individually notable versus the institutional holders above; recorded here for completeness rather than as a row.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Individual carrying/fair value of Albemarle's 49% common-unit interest in ChemCat Holdings, LP (the Ketjen JV/'Holdco'): only a $38.843 million 'Corporate and all other' segment-level equity-method bucket at 30 Jun 2026 was found in the Q2 2026 10-Q, not confirmed to be exclusively this position, so value_usd was left null. Checked: FY2025 10-K Note 8 'Investments', Q2 2026 10-Q Note 4 'Investments' and Note 2 'Divestitures'.
- Discrete balance-sheet value for Albemarle's 50% interest in the MARBL Lithium Joint Venture (Wodgina mine): not disclosed anywhere found; appears to be a joint operation with proportionate recognition rather than a discrete investment. Checked the FY2025 10-K's 'significant unconsolidated investments' ownership table (MARBL is absent from it) and the Q2 2026 10-Q Investments note.
- Standalone fair or market value of Albemarle's 50% consolidated interest in Jordan Bromine Company Limited: not disclosed; only the $248.096 million noncontrolling-interest balance (Arab Potash Company's side) at 31 Dec 2025 was found. Checked the FY2025 10-K Investments and Noncontrolling Interests disclosures.
- Whether any additional institutional holder beyond the 10 in the register (e.g. Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs, D. E. Shaw, Bank of America, Invesco, Northern Trust, all present at meaningful size in the project's stale 31-Mar-2026 ALB.json snapshot) would change the ranking if refreshed to Q2 2026; not individually refetched given the time budget once the register cleared the 25-45% self-gate band with the top 10 fresh holders.
