MGM · NYSE · CIK 0000789570
MGM Resorts International
MGM Resorts International holds 4 disclosed positions, 2 of them carrying a sourced value and 2 that nobody has sized.
MGM Resorts International - Profile
- Sector
- Consumer DiscretionaryGICS
- Industry
- Hotels & MotelsSIC 7011
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 63,000stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from MGM Resorts International's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
MGM
Description
MGM Resorts International is an American multinational hospitality, sports and entertainment company. It operates resorts in Las Vegas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Maryland, Ohio, New Jersey, Macau, Shanghai, Chengdu, Hangzhou and Sanya, including the Bellagio, Mandalay Bay, MGM Grand and Park MGM.
Equity stakes MGM Resorts International holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 598 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
598 managers reported a position, together holding 169.5m shares, or 66.2% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 255.9m shares outstanding at 27 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Self-gate: 10 register rows, 159,886,371 shares summed (no rows are rolled up into any container, since the single is_aggregate row, the directors/officers group, has no separately-listed members), against shares_outstanding of 251,592,756, giving 63.55%. This is above the project's usual 25-45% band, and above the 55% threshold that requires independent corroboration per the project's added guidance. Corroboration: (1) every institutional row (Davis, Vanguard family, BlackRock, State Street, Invesco, Corvex, Geode, Point72) was independently fetched from that filer's own Q2 2026 13F-HR information table for CUSIP 552953101, not copied from the stale register snapshot, and each implies a consistent price of approximately $47.7-47.8/share as of 30 Jun 2026; (2) Corvex's figure is corroborated exactly (to the share) by MGM's own DEF 14A footnote; (3) Vanguard's family sum (22,156,596) is within about 9,100 shares of the register snapshot's independent, differently-dated figure (22,147,504); (4) the single largest driver of the high total, IAC Inc./People Inc at 66,822,350 shares (26.56%), is completely absent from the project's 13F-based register snapshot (598 filers, 169,465,403 shares total, no IAC row at all) because IAC discloses this position via Schedule 13D rather than a 13F, so it is additive rather than a double-count, and was verified directly against IAC's own primary Schedule 13D/A (Amendment No. 8, filed 1 Jun 2026), not an aggregator. There is no overlap risk between IAC and any other row (IAC is not a director/officer and not a member of the insider group).
- The largest holder found, IAC Inc. (formally renamed People Inc. effective 2 Jun 2026, same SEC filer CIK 0001800227), disclosed in its 1 Jun 2026 Schedule 13D/A that on 26 May 2026 it submitted a non-binding proposal to MGM's board to acquire all MGM shares it does not already own for $48.30 per share cash. This is a live, material strategic situation as of this filing's date range and is the primary reason IAC/People Inc is classified holder_type strategic rather than active or index.
- MGM Growth Properties / VICI reconciliation, checked per the project's brief: VICI acquired MGM Growth Properties LLC (MGP), MGM's former real-estate subsidiary, in an April 2022 stock-for-stock transaction (confirmed in MGM's FY2025 10-K). Searched both the FY2025 10-K and the Q2 2026 10-Q for 'VICI OP Units', 'OP Units', 'shares of VICI', 'VICI common stock' and 'VICI shares': none appear anywhere in either filing. The only current VICI-related disclosure is a risk-factor sentence about a tax-protection agreement tied to MGM's ORIGINAL contribution of that real estate (deferred tax gains that would be triggered if MGM stopped providing certain shortfall guarantees on Bellagio REIT Venture and VICI Properties OP LLC's debt), not a current equity stake. This is consistent with data/research/vici-properties.json, whose own notes state it searched for 'a material third-party VICI OP unit holder analogous to the Blackstone/Schwarzman OP-unit case' and found none. Conclusion: MGM does not currently hold VICI shares, VICI OP units, or any other equity interest in VICI arising from the 2022 MGP transaction; both files' silence on this point is mutually consistent, and no holdings row is recorded for it. MGM does retain a lease relationship (VICI is landlord under the amended and restated master lease covering former MGP properties) and a contingent tax exposure, neither of which is an equity holding.
- Capital Group family checked per the project's brief: Capital World Investors (CIK 0001422849), Capital International Investors (CIK 0001562230), and Capital Research Global Investors (CIK 0001422848) were each individually fetched from their own Q2 2026 13F-HR information tables for CUSIP 552953101. None of the three holds any MGM position this quarter (all three returned 'no row matches'). No Capital Group row is included in the register.
- T. Rowe Price checked per the project's brief on both registrants: T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. (CIK 0000080255) holds 281,137 shares valued at a filed $13,442 thousand ($13,442,000; T. Rowe reports values in thousands, corrected here), implying approximately $47.81/share, consistent with the cross-filer cluster; this is only about 0.11% of the company and was judged too small relative to the other 10 rows (all above 1.1%) to include as a full register row, so it is recorded here rather than as a row. T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612), the separate registrant flagged in project guidance, holds no MGM position this quarter.
- MGM China Holdings Limited (HKEX: 2282) is confirmed via MGM's own primary SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q) as an approximately 56% controlling, consolidated interest, but neither filing gives an exact percentage or share count, and Exhibit 21 has no ownership-percentage column (a genuine negative). The precise 55.95% and the 3,800,245,000 total-shares-outstanding figures used in the holdings row both come from secondary/aggregator sources rather than a primary HKEX filing fetched directly in this task; see that row's method_note for the full derivation and an explicit Hong Kong dollar to US dollar conversion caveat.
- GoldenTree Asset Management LP was checked (this project's register snapshot showed 4,771,865 shares) but its Q2 2026 13F-HR common-stock line for MGM is only 909,457 shares, well below the other rows here; not included in the register. This is consistent with GoldenTree being a distressed/credit-focused manager whose stale snapshot position likely mixed in derivative or bond-related lines not comparable to common shares.
- The FY2025 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q were searched in full for 'equity method', 'investments in and advances to unconsolidated affiliates', 'joint venture', 'noncontrolling interest', 'equity investments' and 'variable interest entity'. Beyond the four holdings rows above (MGM China, BetMGM, MGM Osaka, Bellagio REIT Venture), the only other joint-venture-shaped item found was the Aria and Vdara real estate, which MGM sold outright and now only leases back (a lease obligation, not an equity holding), and LV Lion Holding Limited (LeoVegas), which is described as a consolidated (i.e. controlled, majority or wholly owned) subsidiary rather than a minority stake, and is excluded per the brief's wholly-owned-subsidiary carve-out.
- Coordinator verification of the 63.55 per cent self-gate. The excess over the project's normal band is one strategic holder and it was verified against the primary filing rather than taken on trust. IAC Inc., the filer that renamed itself People Inc. in June 2026, CIK 0001800227, Schedule 13D/A Amendment No. 8: the filing itself states sole voting power 66,822,350, sole dispositive power 66,822,350, aggregate beneficial ownership 66,822,350 shares constituting approximately 26.1 per cent, with its own footnote confirming that percentage is calculated on 255,851,235 shares outstanding. This file restates the same position at 26.56 per cent against its own newer denominator of 251,592,756 shares as of 27 Jul 2026, which is correct because every other row in this register uses that same denominator; the share count is unchanged and only the basis of the ratio differs. IAC is deliberately ABSENT from this project's 13F-derived snapshot at data/registers/MGM.json, which is expected and is the whole reason curated research exists: a Schedule 13D strategic holder that reports no 13F position cannot appear in a register built from 13F data, and the snapshot's own caveat says it is a floor rather than a level. Every remaining institutional row does corroborate against that snapshot, built from 598 filers at 31 Mar 2026: Davis Selected Advisers 24,295,338 there against 23,903,317 here, Vanguard 22,147,504 against 22,156,596, BlackRock 12,910,435 against 12,640,448, State Street 6,991,696 against 7,047,768, Geode 5,086,532 against 5,044,676, and Corvex Management 5,347,978 matching here to the exact share. Excluding the IAC row, the remaining nine rows total 93,064,021 shares or 36.99 per cent, which sits inside the project's normal band, so the entire excess is the single 13D-disclosed strategic stake. Separately, the MGM China holding is correctly labelled basis 'aggregator' and confidence 'estimated' rather than filed, because MGM's own SEC filings state only 'approximately 56 per cent' and give no share count.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- MGM China Holdings Limited's exact share count owned by MGM (as opposed to the derived approximately 2.126 billion shares) was not found in any primary filing: MGM's own SEC filings only ever say 'approximately 56%', and no HKEX substantial-shareholder filing was fetched directly in this task (only secondary reporting of one).
- The split of the combined $638 million 'investments in and advances to unconsolidated affiliates' balance (30 Jun 2026) among BetMGM, Bellagio REIT Venture, and unnamed 'other' affiliates (after backing out MGM Osaka's separately disclosed $544 million) is not disclosed anywhere in the 10-Q or 10-K, so BetMGM's and Bellagio REIT Venture's individual carrying values are unknowable from these filings and are left null rather than modelled.
- The identity of the 20% third-party co-owner of the entities MGM leases real estate from, and the identity of Bellagio REIT Venture's majority (95%) owner, are not named in MGM's filings (widely reported elsewhere as Blackstone-affiliated vehicles, but that was not confirmed in a filing read for this task, so it is not stated as fact here).
- Whether IAC Inc.'s (People Inc.'s) $48.30/share take-private proposal for MGM, disclosed 1 Jun 2026, was accepted, rejected, or is still pending was not established: no later Schedule 13D/A or 8-K addressing its outcome was checked in this task.
