L · NYSE · CIK 0000060086
Loews Corporation
Loews Corporation holds 2 disclosed positions, 1 of them carrying a sourced value and 1 that nobody has sized.
Loews Corporation - Profile
- Sector
- FinancialsGICS
- Industry
- Fire, Marine & Casualty InsuranceSIC 6331
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 13,000stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Loews Corporation's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
L
Description
Loews Corporation is an American conglomerate headquartered in New York City. The company's majority-stake holdings include CNA Financial Corporation, Boardwalk Pipelines, Loews Hotels and Altium Packaging. Loews positions itself as a value investor with a long-term focus. The company has allocated significant capital for share buybacks, spending $1.3 billion on share repurchases in the three years ending December 31, 2012. Between 1971 and 2020, Loews reduced its shares outstanding from 1.3 billion to 291 million.
Equity stakes Loews Corporation holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 759 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
759 managers reported a position, together holding 118.8m shares, or 57.7% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 205.8m shares outstanding at 1 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Holdings side is genuinely holdings-rich, as expected for a diversified holding company. CNA Financial Corporation (NYSE: CNA) is a real, sized cross-holding: Loews holds exactly 248,414,738 CNA shares (91.8% of CNA's own 270,600,928 shares outstanding as of 30 Jul 2026, consistent with the 'approximately 92%' both companies independently state), per CNA's own 2026 DEF 14A. CNA does not currently exist as its own file in data/research/ in this project; if it is researched later, that file's CNA-side share count (its own denominator) should be reconciled against the 248,414,738 recorded here.
- Boardwalk Pipeline Partners, LP (Boardwalk Pipelines) is a WHOLLY owned subsidiary: verified directly rather than assumed. Both Loews' Q2 2026 10-Q and FY2025 10-K state 'Boardwalk Pipeline Partners, LP ("Boardwalk Pipelines"), a wholly owned subsidiary'. Excluded from holdings per the brief.
- Loews Hotels Holding Corporation (Loews Hotels & Co) is also a WHOLLY owned subsidiary: verified directly. Both filings state 'Loews Hotels Holding Corporation ("Loews Hotels & Co"), a wholly owned subsidiary'. Excluded from holdings per the brief. Note that Loews Hotels & Co itself holds minority equity-method interests in various individual hotel-property joint ventures (disclosed only in the aggregate, combined with Altium Packaging, in the $878m/$937m equity-method balance discussed on the Altium Packaging holdings row); these sub-subsidiary-level hotel JV stakes are not individually named or sized in the filings reviewed and are not treated as Loews' own holdings here, both because they are several steps removed inside a wholly owned subsidiary and because no individual stake is disclosed.
- Altium Packaging LLC (53% owned, unconsolidated, equity method) is a real holding but its dollar value could not be sourced: the only balance-sheet figure available ($878 million at 31 Dec 2025, $937 million at 31 Dec 2024, 'total investment in entities accounted for under the equity method of accounting, excluding limited partnership investments') is explicitly a COMBINED balance covering both Altium Packaging and an unspecified number of Loews Hotels & Co hotel joint ventures, per the FY2025 10-K's own accounting-policy note. Per the brief's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, value_usd is left null for Altium rather than modelled; unlike Humana's Gentiva Hospice holding, no independent summarized balance sheet for Altium itself is disclosed anywhere in the filings reviewed, so no modelled estimate was possible either.
- The insurance investment portfolio held through CNA (bonds, equities and other instruments backing CNA's insurance float) is explicitly excluded from holdings per the brief; it was not examined in detail beyond confirming this exclusion applies, since it represents insurance-company investments on behalf of policyholders rather than Loews' own strategic equity stakes.
- Exhibit 21.01 of Loews' FY2025 10-K was checked and, consistent with the pattern flagged in this project's guidance (compare Labcorp, Darden), is a bare subsidiary name list with NO ownership-percentage column; it does not itemize Altium Packaging at all (correctly, since Altium is equity-method, not a consolidated subsidiary, and would not appear on a subsidiaries exhibit).
- No Schedule 13D or 13D/A has been filed against Loews (CIK 0000060086) since checked, and the most recent Schedule 13G/A on file is dated 14 Jun 2024, roughly two years stale relative to the Q2 2026 13F data used throughout this register. Per the brief's guidance to prefer the fresher 13F over a stale 13G, this register uses fresh Q2 2026 13F-derived figures for all institutional holders rather than any proxy-quoted 13G figures, and BlackRock's row records the reconciliation against the proxy's own cited figure. No new strategic, sovereign or activist (13D) holder was found.
- Capital Group family checked and found to hold NOTHING in Loews as of Q2 2026: all four entities that hold in this project's other researched companies (Capital World Investors 0001422849, Capital International Investors 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors 0001422848, Capital International, Inc./CA 0000895213) were read directly and none has a Loews row; both umbrella parents (Capital Group Companies, Inc. 0000732812 and Capital Research and Management Company 0000017283) filed Form 13F-NT (no holdings) for Q2 2026. Recorded here as a note per this project's guidance, not as a null row.
- T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612), the second required T. Rowe Price registrant, was checked directly (738 information-table rows read) and holds NO Loews position; only T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. (CIK 0000080255) holds, and that single entity's row is used without summing.
- The Tisch family is the story of this company's register, exactly as flagged in the brief: James S. Tisch (Chairman, retired President/CEO, 7.86%), Andrew H. Tisch (director, 6.90%), Jonathan M. Tisch (director emeritus, 3.82%), Benjamin J. Tisch (President and CEO, 0.36%) and Alexander H. Tisch (VP and CEO of Loews Hotels, 0.03%) together hold approximately 18.87% of the company as of the 17 Mar 2026 proxy record date. Unlike the Marriott/JWM Family Enterprises case flagged in this project's guidance, where a family vehicle sat OUTSIDE the officers/directors aggregate and was double-counted when researchers assumed it was inside, Loews' own proxy explicitly labels its aggregate '(17 persons including those listed above)', confirming all five Tisch individuals (and all 12 other named directors/officers) genuinely sit INSIDE that one aggregate; the self-gate below reduces the aggregate by only the five Tisch members' shares (38,781,506) rather than adding them a second time.
- A discrepancy was found and is flagged rather than silently resolved: CNA's own 2026 DEF 14A (record date 6 Mar 2026) states Andrew H. Tisch's Loews holding as 14,200,959 shares, exactly 100,000 shares higher than the 14,100,959 shares Loews' own 2026 DEF 14A (record date 17 Mar 2026) reports for the same person and what appears to be the same position. Loews' own proxy is treated as authoritative for Loews' own share register (used in this file); the difference may reflect a transaction between the two record dates, a transcription difference between the two proxies, or an inconsistency in one of the underlying beneficial-ownership filings, but could not be resolved from the filings reviewed here.
- Self-gate, computed from this final file exactly as the chart computes it: 18 non-aggregate rows count at full value (117,876,892 shares: 13 institutional 13F rows plus 5 Tisch family individuals), and the aggregate row (39,041,072 shares raw) is reduced by the sum of the 5 rows marked rolls_up_into it (38,781,506 shares) to a residual of 259,566 shares. Total: 19 register rows, 118,136,458 shares, against shares_outstanding 204,427,720 = 57.79% of the company. This is above the brief's 55% flag threshold. Investigated for the three usual causes and none was found: every institutional row is the same CUSIP 540424108 common stock read directly from that holder's own Q2 2026 13F-HR (period 30 Jun 2026), with implied prices clustered tightly at approximately $112.84 to $114.12 per share (all within normal cross-filer noise of each other); every Tisch individual row is sourced from Loews' own 2026 DEF 14A with no double-counting (Vanguard is one family row backed by a confirmed parent 13F-NT; T. Rowe Price is one entity row after confirming the second registrant holds zero; Capital Group is excluded entirely after confirming all checked entities and both umbrella parents hold zero); and the officers/directors aggregate is correctly reduced by its five Tisch members rather than being added on top of them. The elevated total appears to be a genuine feature of Loews' ownership structure: this is a family-influenced, heavily institutionally-held company where the Tisch family alone holds approximately 18.87% (per the proxy) on top of substantial index and active institutional ownership; this project's own data/registers/L.json (an independent Q1 2026 snapshot built from all 759 13F filers reporting a Loews position) shows total_shares_reported of 118,768,309 out of a similar share count then outstanding, i.e. institutional 13F ownership ALONE across the full filer population already sits around 58% of the company, which is consistent with (not contradicted by) the top-13-institution total of approximately 78.9 million shares (38.9% of the company) used in this register, since hundreds of smaller institutional filers not itemized here make up the balance of that independent total. Reported here rather than trimmed to fit the band, per the brief's own guidance that a high but verified reading should be shown.
- Implied per-share price cross-check across all institutional Q2 2026 13F rows: Vanguard family approximately $113.20/sh, BlackRock $113.20/sh, State Street $113.23/sh, JPMorgan $113.69/sh, Geode $112.84/sh, Invesco $113.22/sh, T. Rowe Price $113.21/sh, Citadel $113.20/sh, Allspring $114.12/sh, Goldman Sachs $113.21/sh, Morgan Stanley $113.21/sh, Dimensional $113.21/sh, Northern Trust $113.20/sh. All thirteen cluster tightly around $113.20 to $113.69/sh (Allspring the single outlier at $114.12/sh, still within normal noise), confirming no unit, share-class or thousands-scaling error across any institutional row.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The exact GAAP carrying value of Loews' Altium Packaging equity-method investment is not separately disclosed anywhere in the FY2025 10-K or Q2 2026 10-Q reviewed; the only figure available ($878 million at 31 Dec 2025) is a combined balance also covering an unspecified number of Loews Hotels & Co hotel joint ventures, so no value could be assigned to Altium per the brief's rule against sizing one investee from a combined balance.
- The identity of the joint-venture partner(s) holding the remaining approximately 47% of Altium Packaging is not disclosed in the filings reviewed.
- The individual hotel-property joint ventures in which Loews Hotels & Co (a wholly owned Loews subsidiary) holds minority equity-method interests are not individually named or sized in the filings reviewed; only their combined inclusion, alongside Altium Packaging, in the $878m/$937m equity-method balance is disclosed.
- The precise number of CNA shares Loews holds as of the most recent date (today, 19 Aug 2026, or even 30 Jun 2026) is not separately disclosed; the exact figure used here (248,414,738 shares) is dated 6 Mar 2026 per CNA's own proxy, corroborated only by the rounded 'approximately 92%' both companies separately state as of 30 Jun 2026. Given continuing purchases (Loews bought a further $36 million of CNA minority stock in H1 2026 per its own Q2 2026 10-Q) the exact current share count is very likely somewhat higher than 248,414,738.
- The 100,000-share discrepancy between Loews' own 2026 DEF 14A (14,100,959 shares) and CNA's 2026 DEF 14A (14,200,959 shares) for Andrew H. Tisch's Loews holding could not be resolved from the filings reviewed; Loews' own figure is used in this register.
- Smaller directors/officers named individually in the 2026 DEF 14A (Ann E. Berman, Charles D. Davidson, Charles M. Diker, Paul J. Fribourg, Walter L. Harris, Jonathan C. Locker, Susan P. Peters, Dino E. Robusto, Richard W. Scott, Kenneth I. Siegel, Jennifer VanBelle, Jane J. Wang) were not broken out as individual register rows since each holds well under 1% individually; their combined 243,241 shares remain inside the officers/directors aggregate's residual rather than being itemized.
- A small 16,325-share gap between the sum of all 17 individually named directors/officers (39,024,747 shares) and the proxy's own stated group total (39,041,072 shares) is not explained in the filing and is treated as an immaterial reconciling difference.
