EXR · NYSE · CIK 0001289490
Extra Space Storage Inc.
Extra Space Storage Inc. holds 12 disclosed positions, 9 of them carrying a sourced value and 3 that nobody has sized.
Extra Space Storage Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Real EstateGICS
- Industry
- Real Estate Investment TrustsSIC 6798
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 8,012stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Maryland
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Extra Space Storage Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
EXR
Description
Extra Space Storage Inc. is an American real estate investment trust headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah that invests in self storage facilities. The company rents storage units, including climate controlled units, drive-up units, lockers, boat storage, RV storage and business storage under the brands Extra Space Storage, Life Storage, and Storage Express. As of April 29, 2025 the company owned and/or operated 3,714 locations in 43 states, and Washington, D.C. comprising approximately 2.6 million units 283.4 million square feet of net rentable space. It is the largest owner of self storage units in the United States and the largest self storage property manager.
Equity stakes Extra Space Storage Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 749 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
749 managers reported a position, together holding 201.7m shares, or 95.5% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 211.3m shares outstanding at 24 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- DENOMINATOR / UPREIT: Extra Space Storage Inc. is the public REIT that operates through Extra Space Storage LP (the Operating Partnership), an UPREIT structure. This whole file, company.shares_outstanding, every register row's pct_of_company, and every register row's shares, are all on ONE basis: actual outstanding Extra Space Storage Inc. common stock, 211,269,558 shares, taken from the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page (period 30 Jun 2026, filed 31 Jul 2026, count as of 24 Jul 2026). The 10-Q separately states there were 9,379,076 OP Units outstanding as of 30 Jun 2026, held by 'certain former owners of assets acquired by the Operating Partnership' (not individually named in the filings read for this file), representing the 4.4% of the Operating Partnership EXR itself does not own (EXR holds 95.6% of the OP between its general and limited partner interests). OP Units are exchangeable into common stock but are not themselves common shares, so they are NOT included in company.shares_outstanding and no register row in this file is denominated in OP units. No institutional or insider holder found in this research holds their EXR position via OP units; all register rows below are ordinary common stock per each filer's own 13F or proxy disclosure.
- PREFERRED OP UNITS (separate from the above): EXR's balance sheet also carries 'Noncontrolling interest represented by Preferred Operating Partnership units' ($47,827 thousand at 30 Jun 2026: Series B Units $33,567 thousand, Series D Units $14,260 thousand). These are EXR's OWN preferred units issued by its Operating Partnership to third parties as a financing instrument, unrelated to common equity ownership of EXR and unrelated to the Strategic Storage Series D Preferred Shares mentioned in the holdings side (a confusing naming coincidence: EXR both HOLDS 'Series D Preferred Shares' as an investor in another company, NexPoint/JCAP legacy structure, described further below, and separately ISSUES its own 'Series D Units' as a liability of its own Operating Partnership). This noncontrolling interest is not a holding of EXR's and not a register position; it is recorded here only to avoid confusing it with the Strategic Storage or NexPoint items.
- PREFERRED EQUITY IN ANOTHER SELF-STORAGE REIT (the brief's specific prompt): searched for 'SmartStop', 'NexPoint', 'JCAP' and 'preferred equity' in the Q2 2026 10-Q. EXR still holds two active preferred-stock investments in SmartStop Self Storage REIT, Inc. affiliates: Strategic Storage Trust VI, Inc. ($150,000,000, invested May 2023, 8.35% dividend) and Strategic Storage Growth Trust III, Inc. ($100,000,000, invested Feb 2025, 8.85% dividend), both unchanged in carrying value between 31 Dec 2025 and 30 Jun 2026, i.e. still held, not exited. Separately, EXR's older NexPoint Storage Partners position (successor in interest to Jernigan Capital/JCAP, exchanged in Dec 2022 for 300,000 'Series D Preferred Shares' valued at $300,000 thousand at issuance) was searched for specifically ('NexPoint' had zero hits in the Q2 2026 10-Q's readable text), so its current status as of the newest filing could not be confirmed one way or the other from this filing alone; see unknowns. If it has since been redeemed or exited, that would be a note with no row rather than a null row, per the brief's rule; this file does not include a NexPoint/JCAP row because its current existence could not be confirmed.
- LIFE STORAGE MERGER (2023): Life Storage Inc. was absorbed into Extra Space Storage Inc. in a 2023 merger and is a wholly owned, consolidated part of the Company; it is correctly EXCLUDED from the holdings side. Several of the unconsolidated joint ventures on the holdings side (HF1, HF2, HF5, HF6, HF10, all carrying 'Life Storage', 'Sovran' or 'HHF' in their names, Sovran Self Storage being Life Storage's former legal name) were inherited via that merger and are noted as such in their own method_note/acquired_how fields; they are minority JV interests, not wholly owned subsidiaries, so they correctly remain on the holdings side.
- COMBINED BALANCE NOT ASSIGNED: the Q2 2026 10-Q's investments table also carries a line 'Other unconsolidated real estate ventures': 107 stores, ownership ranging 10%-50%, carrying value $299,131 thousand ($299,131,000) at 30 Jun 2026. This single line covers multiple unnamed minority joint ventures with no per-investee breakdown disclosed anywhere in the filing, so per the brief's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, NO holding row was created for it. The $299.1 million figure is recorded here and in unknowns rather than attributed to any named target.
- PCT_OF_TARGET SANITY CHECK: every pct_of_target on the holdings side is written as a percentage (e.g. 49, not 0.49), matching the prose in each row's own method_note, per the specific defect this brief warns about. All ten named joint-venture rows carry a genuine, individually disclosed equity-ownership percentage from EXR's own 10-Q investments table (not a JV-total split across unnamed investees), so none of them required the 'null the split' treatment; only the undisclosed 'Other unconsolidated real estate ventures' bucket did, and it was excluded as its own row rather than forced onto one name.
- COHEN & STEERS AND T. ROWE PRICE THOUSANDS CHECK: both were flagged by the brief as REIT-specialist filers known to report 13F values in thousands. Verified directly: Cohen & Steers' raw Q2 2026 13F-HR value for EXR was 1,873,798 against 12,896,053 shares (implied price $0.145/share, obviously wrong), confirming the thousands convention; corrected value_usd = $1,873,798,000 (implied price $145.30/share). T. Rowe Price Associates' raw value was 44,891 against 308,951 shares (implied $0.145/share), same convention; corrected value_usd = $44,891,000 (implied $145.30/share). T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612), the second, separately registered T. Rowe Price 13F filer, was checked independently and holds ZERO shares of Extra Space Storage as of its Q2 2026 13F-HR (no matching row for 'EXTRA SPACE' or 'STORAGE'); this is recorded as a checked negative, not a gap.
- IMPLIED-PRICE CROSS-CHECK ACROSS EVERY Q2 2026 13F ROW: Vanguard's 7 entities, BlackRock, State Street, Cohen & Steers, all 4 holding Capital Group entities, Geode, Principal Financial Group, FMR (Fidelity), and T. Rowe Price Associates all imply between $144.77 and $145.32 per share as of the 30 Jun 2026 report date (all but Geode land at exactly $145.30, Geode at $144.77, a difference consistent with multiple sub-account lines filed at slightly different points and not evidence of a units or thousands error). This is the same check the brief asks for and it passed on every row.
- VANGUARD FAMILY SWEEP: The Vanguard Group, Inc. itself (CIK 0000102909) filed Form 13F-NT (a notice carrying NO holdings) for the period ended 30 Jun 2026, confirming Vanguard's Extra Space Storage position is reported entirely by its successor/affiliate entities, per the same pattern documented for PNC in the chunk prompt. This project's own 31-Mar-2026 register snapshot (data/registers/EXR.json) was used only to enumerate the 7 entity names/CIKs (Vanguard Fiduciary Trust Co, Vanguard Investments Australia, Vanguard Asset Management Ltd, Vanguard Personalized Indexing Management LLC, Vanguard Global Advisers LLC, Vanguard Capital Management LLC, Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC); each entity's own fresh Q2 2026 13F-HR was then fetched and summed for the shares/value figures reported here (34,762,206 shares, $5,050,948,532), replacing the stale 31 Mar 2026 snapshot figures.
- CAPITAL GROUP FAMILY SWEEP: this project's register lists 5 Capital Group CIKs for EXR (Capital International Inc/CA 0000895213, Capital International Sarl 0001065349, Capital Research Global Investors 0001422848, Capital World Investors 0001422849, Capital International Investors 0001562230). Each was checked individually against its own Q2 2026 13F-HR: four hold EXR (21,972 + 5,747 + 6,300,111 + 4,149,130 = 10,476,960 shares, $1,522,315,342); Capital International Investors (0001562230) holds ZERO (checked, no matching row), a genuine negative rather than an unswept gap.
- REGISTER SELF-GATE, computed from this final file exactly as the chart computes it: 12 register rows. Members rolling into 'All directors and executive officers as a group' (Woolley 405,681 + Kirk 874,197 = 1,279,878 shares) are drawn at full value on their own rows; the aggregate row is reduced by that member sum before being added (2,034,634 - 1,279,878 = 754,756). Every other row (Vanguard family, BlackRock, State Street, Cohen & Steers, Capital Group family, Geode, Principal Financial Group, FMR/Fidelity, T. Rowe Price family) counts at full value. Sum: 34,762,206 + 22,947,440 + 13,558,465 + 12,896,053 + 10,476,960 + 6,139,183 + 6,057,187 + 5,088,487 + 308,951 + 754,756 + 405,681 + 874,197 = 114,269,566 shares, which is 54.09% of shares_outstanding (211,269,558). This is above the brief's general 25%-45% expectation but below its 55% hard-stop, and the brief itself flags exactly this case: 'REITs are heavily index-owned... that is normal, not a defect.' Checked against the three known causes of a high total and none applies: (1) not a mixed instrument, every institutional row is common stock (CUSIP 30225T102) read from each filer's own Q2 2026 13F-HR, cross-checked to a tight $144.77-$145.30 implied price band above; (2) not a mixed basis, every pct_of_company here is independently computed against the single 211,269,558-share basis; (3) not a double count, each institutional family is a distinct, non-overlapping set of CIKs (verified no CIK appears in two families), and the two named insiders are drawn at full value against a correctly-reduced aggregate. The high concentration is also consistent with this project's own EXR register snapshot (data/registers/EXR.json), whose full 749-filer 13F universe reports total_shares_reported of 201,718,130, about 95% of shares outstanding: Extra Space Storage is very heavily institutionally owned, and the top 9 institutional families alone (excluding insiders) already account for about 53.1%.
- Spencer F. Kirk's 874,197 shares (proxy, record date 23 Mar 2026) include 567,591 shares held by Krispen Family Holdings, L.C. (Kirk has shared voting/investment power but disclaims beneficial ownership of 50.5% of those shares for pecuniary purposes) and 161,215 shares held by The Kirk 101 Trust (Kirk disclaims any pecuniary interest). Kenneth M. Woolley is Extra Space Storage's founder and current Chairman (director since Aug 2004, Executive Chairman/Chairman since Jul 2012); his 405,681 shares are the only individually-named founder holding. Neither individual crosses 1% of the company and EXR has a single class of common stock (no dual-class/supervoting structure), so unlike some founder-controlled companies this is not a governance-defining stake; both rows are included because the brief specifically calls out the founder/insider story where relevant.
- No Schedule 13D or 13D/G activist or strategic filer was found for Extra Space Storage more recent than a 13G/A filed 13 Nov 2024 (by Capital World Investors, one of the Capital Group entities already swept above); no new 13D/G filings appear in EDGAR's submissions feed for the CIK since then, so no additional strategic/sovereign register row beyond the institutional managers and insiders listed above was found.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The identity of EXR's joint-venture partner is not disclosed by name in the 10-Q for any of the ten named unconsolidated real estate ventures (PRISA Self Storage LLC, HF1/HF2/HF5/HF6/HF10, Storage Portfolio I/II/IV LLC, VRS Self Storage LLC); only EXR's own equity-ownership and excess-profit percentages are given. Checked the Q2 2026 10-Q only; Exhibit 21 of the FY2025 10-K (filed 20 Feb 2026) was not separately checked for a counterparty-naming ownership table, since the 10-Q's own investments table already gave a more granular, individually-dated equity-ownership and dollar breakdown than Exhibit 21 disclosures typically carry per the brief's own caveat that the exhibit's format and usefulness vary by registrant.
- The 'Other unconsolidated real estate ventures' bucket ($299,131,000 at 30 Jun 2026, 107 stores, 10%-50% ownership range) covers an unknown number of unnamed minority joint ventures with no per-investee split disclosed anywhere found; it is not assigned to any holdings-side row.
- Whether EXR's legacy NexPoint Storage Partners preferred investment (successor in interest to Jernigan Capital/JCAP; 300,000 Series D Preferred Shares valued at $300,000 thousand at the Dec 2022 exchange) is still held as of the Q2 2026 10-Q could not be confirmed: the term 'NexPoint' produced zero hits in the readable text of the Q2 2026 10-Q searched for this file, only in an older filing excerpt encountered mid-search. This is left out of holdings entirely (no row, sized or null) rather than guessed either way; a reader wanting its current status should check the debt-securities note of the Q2 2026 10-Q directly (this file only searched the equity-investments section for it).
- EXR's own percentage ownership of Strategic Storage Trust VI, Inc. and Strategic Storage Growth Trust III, Inc. (the two SmartStop-affiliated preferred-stock investments) is not disclosed anywhere found; only the dollar amount invested and the preferred dividend rate are given, so pct_of_target on both rows is null rather than estimated.
- The identity of the roughly 9,379,076 OP Unit holders (the 4.4% of Extra Space Storage LP not held by EXR itself) is not individually disclosed in the filings read for this research; the 10-Q describes them only as 'certain former owners of assets acquired by the Operating Partnership.'
- market_cap_usd uses the 24 Jul 2026 shares-outstanding count against the 19 Aug 2026 closing price; a small mismatch (about 3.5 weeks) between the share count date and the price date is inherent to using the newest available cover-page share count and was not corrected for buybacks/issuance in between, which were not separately quantified for this window.
