TDY · NYSE · CIK 0001094285
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated holds 2 disclosed positions, 0 of them carrying a sourced value and 2 that nobody has sized.
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated - Profile
- Sector
- Information TechnologyGICS
- Industry
- Search, Detection, Navigation, Guidance, Aeronautical SysSIC 3812
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 15,800stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 3 January
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Teledyne Technologies Incorporated's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
TDY
Description
Teledyne Technologies Incorporated is an American industrial conglomerate. It was founded in 1960, as Teledyne, Inc. by Henry Singleton and George Kozmetsky. From August 1996 to November 1999, Teledyne existed as part of the conglomerate Allegheny Teledyne Incorporated – a combination of the former Teledyne, Inc. and the former Allegheny Ludlum Corporation. On November 29, 1999, three separate entities, Teledyne Technologies, Allegheny Technologies, and Water Pik Technologies, were spun off as free-standing public companies. Allegheny Technologies retained several companies of the former Teledyne, Inc. that fit with Allegheny's core business of steel and exotic metals production.
Equity stakes Teledyne Technologies Incorporated holds in other companies.
No position on this side carries a sourced value, so there is nothing to chart. The table still lists 2 of them.
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 832 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
832 managers reported a position, together holding 44.1m shares, or 95.1% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 46.3m shares outstanding at 15 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- HOLDINGS SIDE: The FY2025 10-K (filed 20 Feb 2026, period ended 28 Dec 2025) and the Q2 2026 10-Q (filed 24 Jul 2026, period ended 28 Jun 2026, the freshest filing on record) were both searched via scripts/filing.py for 'equity method', 'joint venture', 'unconsolidated', 'non-marketable', 'variable interest entity', 'noncontrolling interest', 'redeemable noncontrolling', 'minority interest' and 'equity securities'. Neither filing discloses any equity-method investee, unconsolidated joint venture or non-marketable equity security. The only noncontrolling-interest activity disclosed is the FY2025 buyout of the redeemable NCI in NL Acoustics for $27.2 million (Q3 2025), which extinguished that position entirely; NL Acoustics is not a holding as of the FY2025/Q2-2026 filings because Teledyne now owns 100% of it.
- Exhibit 21 to the FY2025 10-K (subsidiaries list) is a plain name/jurisdiction list with NO ownership-percentage column for any entity, majority or minority; this is the Labcorp/Darden shape, not the Quest/PPG shape. However, two entries carry an explicit parenthetical flag the rest of the list does not: 'Ocean Aero, Inc. (minority interest) Delaware' and 'SCI CEDIP (minority interest) France'. Both were investigated outside the 10-K/10-Q (SEC full text search plus web search for the underlying transactions) and are carried as holdings above, each sized by the best available disclosed figure (Teledyne's own 2015 press release for Ocean Aero at ~37%; FLIR's pre-acquisition 2008 10-K for Cedip at 99.9%), with confidence 'estimated' because Teledyne itself has never disclosed a current percentage for either.
- Register self-gate, computed from this file on disk exactly as the chart computes it: 12 rows, no rolls_up_into relationships (the insider group has no member rows beneath it, so it counts at full value). Total shares = 26,100,424. shares_outstanding = 46,355,673 (Q2 2026 10-Q cover page, 'There were 46,355,673 shares of common stock ... outstanding as of July 15, 2026'). 26,100,424 / 46,355,673 = 56.30%, slightly above the 25-55% band the brief describes as typical. This is treated as a genuine result, not an error: Teledyne has an unusually small float (~46.4 million shares) at a high share price (~$656-680 in Aug 2026), which the brief itself flags as the reason a small-float, heavily institutionally owned company can land above 55%. Every row was cross-checked for a consistent implied price (~$667/share on the Q2 2026 13F rows) and no unit or denominator error was found. Corroborated first-hand by the coordinator against this project's own 13F-derived register (data/registers/TDY.json, period 31 Mar 2026, separate pipeline): its top TWELVE holders sum to 56.89% of the same denominator against the 56.30% recorded here from twelve rows, and total institutional ownership is 35,519,382 shares, 76.62%. Two independent derivations agreeing to within 0.6 percentage points on the same row count confirms the level is real, and it is what a 46.4 million share float with heavy index ownership produces. The $667.03 implied-price cluster across all twelve rows separately rules out a units error.
- Entity lists for Vanguard and T. Rowe Price were drawn from this project's own data/registers/TDY.json snapshot (period 31 Mar 2026) as a WHO-holds guide only; every share and value figure in this file was pulled fresh from each entity's own Q2 2026 (period 30 Jun 2026) 13F-HR information table, not from that snapshot, per the brief's instruction.
- Vanguard's parent, The Vanguard Group, Inc. (CIK 0000102909), was not found filing any 13F for the Q2 2026 period under that CIK; the eight successor entities checked (Capital Management LLC, Portfolio Management LLC, Fiduciary Trust Co, Global Advisers LLC, Asset Management Ltd, Investments Australia Ltd, Personalized Indexing Management LLC, National Trust Co) each filed their own fresh 13F-HR for the period, so per the PNC precedent in the brief they were summed as the family total rather than substituted.
- Capital Group was checked and holds nothing: Capital World Investors (CIK 0001422849), Capital International Investors (CIK 0001562230) and Capital Research Global Investors (CIK 0001422848) were each queried against their own Q2 2026 13F-HR information tables for CUSIP 879360105 / issuer name fragment TELEDYNE, and none returned a matching row. No register row is carried for Capital Group as a result.
- T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612) does hold TDY (159,145 shares, Q2 2026), unlike the Capital Group case; it is summed with T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. into the single family row above rather than listed separately, per the brief's guidance to sweep the T. Rowe family across both registrants.
- FMR LLC (Fidelity's US-domestic registrant, CIK 0000315066, distinct from FIL Ltd/Fidelity International) was checked and holds only 62,266 shares (0.13%) as of Q2 2026, too small to place in the top 8-12 alongside FIL Ltd's much larger 1,834,853-share position; it is not carried as a register row.
- The 2026 DEF 14A's own 'Five Percent Owners of Common Stock' table (as of 17 Feb 2026, sourced to Schedule 13G/A amendments filed Jan 2026) lists Vanguard at 5,977,777 sh / 12.9%, BlackRock at 4,126,878 sh / 8.9% and T. Rowe Price Associates at 3,126,015 sh / 6.8%. Per the brief, these stale 13G-derived proxy figures are superseded in this file by the fresher Q2 2026 13F-HR figures fetched directly; the two sets are close but not identical (e.g. Vanguard's fresh family total of 5,886,098 is below the stale 13G figure of 5,977,777, and BlackRock's fresh 4,125,237 is essentially flat versus the stale 4,126,878), consistent with normal quarter-to-quarter portfolio movement rather than a units or entity error.
- Teledyne has agreed to acquire Varex Imaging in an all-cash transaction valued at approximately $1.1 billion (per public reporting as of Aug 2026); as a pending wholly owned acquisition this is not a holding and is noted here only for context, not sized or sourced to a filing.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Current, filing-sourced ownership percentages for Ocean Aero, Inc. and SCI CEDIP: Teledyne has not disclosed either figure in any 10-K, 10-Q or 8-K since (respectively) 2015 and the 2021 FLIR acquisition. The figures used (37% and 99.9%) are the best available disclosed numbers but are not current filings.
- No share count or dollar carrying value is disclosed anywhere for Ocean Aero, Inc. or SCI CEDIP; both being private companies with no equity-method or NCI dollar disclosure attributable to them individually.
- The identity of the minority co-owner(s) of Ocean Aero, Inc. and SCI CEDIP is not disclosed in any Teledyne or (for Cedip) FLIR filing reviewed.
- value_usd for the Vanguard family row is a straight sum of each entity's own 13F dollar-value column; this was not independently cross-checked against a consolidated Schedule 13G dollar figure because Vanguard's most recent 13G/A (Jan 2026) does not report a dollar value, only share counts.
