CMG · NYSE · CIK 0001058090
Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc.
Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc. holds 3 disclosed positions, 3 of them carrying a sourced value.
Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Consumer DiscretionaryGICS
- Industry
- Retail-Eating PlacesSIC 5812
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 45,200stated 2013
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure Wikidata carries for 2013, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
CMG
Description
Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc., also known simply as Chipotle, is an American multinational chain of fast casual restaurants specializing in bowls, tacos, and Mission burritos made to order in front of the customer. As of December 2025, Chipotle has 4,000 locations. Its name derives from chipotle, the Nahuatl name (from chilpoctli) for a smoked and dried jalapeño chili pepper.
Equity stakes Chipotle Mexican Grill, Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,225 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,225 managers reported a position, together holding 1.14bn shares, or 88.9% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 1.28bn shares outstanding at 24 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- STOCK SPLIT: Chipotle executed a 50-for-1 stock split (in the form of a special stock dividend), announced 19 Mar 2024, record date 18 Jun 2024, additional shares distributed after market close 25 Jun 2024, trading split-adjusted from 26 Jun 2024 (confirmed via 8-Ks filed 20 Mar 2024, accession 0001193125-24-071595, and 7 Jun 2024, accession 0001058090-24-000024, both read via scripts/filing.py search for 'split'). This is nearly two years before today (18 Aug 2026). Every filing used in this file (all Q2 2026 13F-HR filings dated 30 Jun 2026, the 2026 DEF 14A as of 15 Apr 2026, and the Q2 2026 10-Q as of 30 Jun 2026 / 24 Jul 2026) postdates the split by well over a year, so no pre-split-to-post-split restatement was required for any register or holdings row in this file. This was checked explicitly rather than assumed: cross-checked the SEC XBRL dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding time series for CIK 0001058090, which jumps from 27,467,000 shares (22 Apr 2024, pre-split) to 1,369,476,000 shares (22 Jul 2024, post-split), a roughly 50x discontinuity consistent with the 50-for-1 ratio, then declines smoothly and continuously (buybacks) through 1,265,418,000 shares (24 Jul 2026), the basis used for company.shares_outstanding and every register pct_of_company here.
- company.shares_outstanding (1,265,418,000) is sourced from the cover page of the latest 10-Q (period ended 30 Jun 2026, filed 31 Jul 2026), which states 'As of July 24, 2026, there were 1,265,418 shares of the registrant's common stock... outstanding' in the filing's raw display units; the underlying dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding XBRL fact confirms the true value is 1,265,418,000 (the cover-page display figure is presented at a scale of thousands relative to the XBRL fact, consistent with the company's convention of reporting dollar and share figures elsewhere in the filing in thousands). Cross-checked against stockanalysis.com's 18 Aug 2026 snapshot ('Shares Outstanding: 1.27 billion'), which matches.
- Holdings side. Searched the latest 10-Q (period ended 30 Jun 2026, filed 31 Jul 2026, https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1058090/000105809026000066/cmg-20260630.htm) via scripts/filing.py search and prose for the terms 'equity method', 'joint venture', 'unconsolidated', 'non-marketable', 'nonmarketable', 'investment in', 'Cultivate', 'strategic investment'. 'joint venture' and 'strategic investment' returned zero hits. 'unconsolidated' and 'nonmarketable' (one word) returned zero hits. The other terms returned Note 5 'Equity Investments', which discloses three named investees (Tractor Beverages, Hyphen Technologies, Nuro) plus a combined bucket. All three named holdings are included above.
- Cultivate Next Fund: Chipotle's own venture-investment vehicle backing early-stage food, restaurant and ag-tech companies. Note 5 of the Q2 2026 10-Q states Chipotle 'held additional investments in other entities through the Cultivate Next Fund,' a combined carrying value of $36,490 thousand ($36.49m) at 30 Jun 2026 and $35,484 thousand ($35.48m) at 31 Dec 2025, included within long-term investments. The filing does not name the individual portfolio companies or break out the balance by investee. Per the project rule that a combined balance sizes none of the underlying holdings, no holdings row is created for any individual Cultivate Next portfolio company; the combined figure is recorded here and in unknowns rather than attributed to any single, unnamed target.
- Vanguard case: PARENT FILED 13F-NT (the same pattern verified on Ross Stores). Vanguard Group Inc's parent CIK 0000102909 filed Form 13F-NT (a notice carrying no holdings) for the quarter ended 30 Jun 2026, corroborated by the 2026 DEF 14A's own footnote describing The Vanguard Group's 26 Mar 2026 Schedule 13G/A, which states it beneficially owns zero shares as of 12 Jan 2026 following an internal realignment, with subsidiaries/business divisions reporting separately going forward. Because the parent reports nothing, the register sums the two successor entities that hold CMG for Q2 2026: Vanguard Capital Management LLC (CIK 0002100119, 83,815,448 shares) and Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC (CIK 0002100121, 60,320,683 shares), total 144,136,131 shares. Other, smaller Vanguard-affiliated 13F filers were not individually checked; see unknowns.
- Capital Group family: all three mandated entities checked (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848) against CUSIP 169656105 in their Q2 2026 13F-HR info tables. Capital World Investors and Capital International Investors both hold; Capital Research Global Investors holds zero (CUSIP absent from its info table), a sourced zero rather than an omission. Family total 75,932,534 shares, summed into a single roll-up row (not a proxy aggregate, so is_aggregate is not set on it).
- T. Rowe Price: both mandated entities checked. T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. (CIK 0000080255) holds 38,691,847 CMG shares as of 30 Jun 2026 (values-in-thousands trap identified and corrected, see the register row's method_note). T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612), the separate registrant, filed its own Q2 2026 13F-HR and holds zero CMG shares (CUSIP 169656105 absent from its info table).
- Proxy 5%-holder table (as of 15 Apr 2026) versus 13F register: the 2026 DEF 14A lists only two beneficial owners above 5 percent: The Vanguard Group, Inc. at 144,587,720 shares (11.25%, based on a Schedule 13G/A filed 7 Jan 2026, itself superseded by the 26 Mar 2026 13G/A describing the Jan 2026 disaggregation) and Capital World Investors at 101,787,624 shares (7.92%, based on a Schedule 13G/A filed 13 Feb 2026 reflecting ownership as of 31 Dec 2025). Both figures are on the same post-split share basis as the register but from an earlier date. The register instead uses each manager's Q2 2026 Form 13F-HR (30 Jun 2026 position date) as the more current, filing-basis, share-level source: Vanguard successors sum to 144,136,131 shares (11.39%, close to the proxy's 11.25%) while Capital World alone has fallen to 45,806,251 shares by 30 Jun 2026 (down from 101,787,624 at 31 Dec 2025), a genuine reported position reduction over roughly two quarters rather than a data inconsistency, since both figures are on the identical post-split basis.
- Insiders: Chipotle has a single class of common stock and no founder-control or dual-class structure (co-founder Steve Ells no longer serves as an executive officer or director and does not appear as a 5% holder or a named director/NEO in the 2026 proxy; not separately checked via 13D/G within the time budget). The proxy's 'All current directors and executive officers as a group (15 people)' aggregate (6,038,430 total shares beneficially owned, including rights to acquire within 60 days) is reported as a single standalone register row rather than decomposed into individually named members, because the individually named directors/NEOs in the same table sum to more than the group total, meaning the proxy does not disclose which named individuals fall inside versus outside the 'current' 15-person count (Jack Hartung, the largest individually named holder at 4,418,248 shares, is a former CFO who had already retired by the 15 Apr 2026 record date and is excluded from the 'current' figure; whether Albert Baldocchi's 3,224,432 shares, or others, are included could not be confirmed from the disclosed text).
- Self-gate, computed the way the chart computes it (scripts/filing.py-sourced 13F rows plus one proxy-sourced insider aggregate; no rolls_up_into relationships in this file, so every row counts at full value): 9 register rows. Vanguard 144,136,131 + BlackRock 129,925,735 + Capital Group 75,932,534 + State Street 55,667,783 + T. Rowe Price 38,691,847 + Geode 36,374,611 + FMR 34,290,443 + Norges Bank 25,846,578 + insiders group 6,038,430 = 546,904,092 shares, 43.219% of 1,265,418,000 shares outstanding. Within the expected 25 to 45 percent band (near the upper edge, consistent with a heavily institutionally held large-cap restaurant company with no single dominant index manager anomaly).
- Market cap ($42.94bn) and share price ($33.93) are stockanalysis.com's figures as of the 18 Aug 2026 intraday pull (11:51am ET). Cross-check: 1,265,418,000 shares x $33.93 implies approximately $42.95 billion, matching the reported $42.94bn closely. The $33.93 price is also consistent with the roughly $34.00/share implied by dividing 13F dollar values by 13F share counts across State Street, FMR, Capital World, and Norges Bank for the 30 Jun 2026 quarter.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Cultivate Next Fund combined carrying value ($36,490 thousand at 30 Jun 2026, $35,484 thousand at 31 Dec 2025) covers an unspecified number of unnamed early-stage food/restaurant/ag-tech portfolio companies; the 10-Q does not name them or break out the balance by investee, so no individual holding is sized for this bucket.
- Vanguard-affiliated 13F filers other than Vanguard Capital Management LLC and Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC (for example Vanguard Advisers Inc, Vanguard Fiduciary Trust Co, Vanguard Global Advisers) were not individually checked for CMG holdings within the time budget; if any hold CMG shares, the true Vanguard family total is somewhat higher than the 144,136,131 shares used here.
- Ownership percentage of Hyphen Technologies, Inc. and of Nuro, Inc. held by Chipotle is not disclosed in the 10-Q (only share counts and carrying values are given), so pct_of_target is null for both rather than estimated.
- Dollar value for the insider aggregate register row is null: the 2026 proxy's beneficial ownership table gives share counts and a percentage but no dollar values, and no verified per-share price as of the 15 Apr 2026 record date was sourced.
- Which specific individuals among the proxy's individually named directors and NEOs compose the 'All current directors and executive officers as a group (15 people)' total could not be determined from the disclosed text (the individually named current-officer/director figures sum to more than the group total), so no individual insider rows (e.g. Albert Baldocchi at 3,224,432 shares, or others) were added separately; only the group aggregate is included.
- Institutional holders below the top 8 to 12 threshold used here (e.g. JPMorgan Chase, Morgan Stanley, Bank of America, Northern Trust, Wellington, Dodge & Cox) were not individually checked; the register's 9 rows already satisfy the brief's top 8 to 12 target while covering all mandated family checks (Vanguard, Capital Group, both T. Rowe Price entities).
