CF · NYSE · CIK 0001324404
CF Industries Holdings, Inc.
CF Industries Holdings, Inc. holds 3 disclosed positions, 1 of them carrying a sourced value and 2 that nobody has sized.
CF Industries Holdings, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- MaterialsGICS
- Industry
- Agricultural ChemicalsSIC 2870
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 3,016stated 2020
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from CF Industries Holdings, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2020, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
CF
Description
CF Industries Holdings, Inc. is an American manufacturer and distributor of agricultural fertilizers, including ammonia, urea, and ammonium nitrate products. The company is based in Northbrook, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago, and was founded in 1946 as the Central Farmers Fertilizer Company. For its first 56 years, it was a federation of regional agricultural supply cooperatives. CF then demutualized, and became a publicly traded company.
Equity stakes CF Industries Holdings, Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 899 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
899 managers reported a position, together holding 148.8m shares, or 96.8% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 153.6m shares outstanding at 4 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- CF's Blue Point (low-carbon ammonia) joint venture partners JERA and Mitsui are not individually in this register/holdings project; if either is researched separately, the 40/35/25 split here should reconcile with their own filings so the three percentages sum to 100.
- The register carries 10 rows (7 named institutional/family rows after summing Vanguard's 7 non-zero entities and T. Rowe Price's two CIKs as separate rows, plus Capital Group summed, plus one insider aggregate row). Self-gate computed exactly as the chart computes it (no row is marked is_aggregate with members rolling into it, so every row counts at full value): total shares = 66,204,485; shares_outstanding = 151,338,130 (10-Q cover page and dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding, as of 3 Aug 2026); register = 43.75% of the company, within the expected 25-45% band.
- CF has repurchased a large fraction of its own stock: shares outstanding fell from 161,972,955 (4 Aug 2025) to 151,338,130 (3 Aug 2026) over one year per XBRL dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding, so a stale denominator would materially overstate every register percentage; the 3 Aug 2026 figure is used throughout.
- CHS Inc. is CF's counterparty in the CFN venture, not a shareholder of CF Industries Holdings, Inc., so it does not appear in the register.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- market_cap_usd and market_cap_as_of: left null. No live/current stock-quote page was fetched in this task, only SEC filings, so a market cap figure could not be sourced to a fetched page rather than modelled from a stale 13F-quarter price.
- CF's own carrying value in CF Industries Nitrogen, LLC (CFN) is not separately disclosed in the 10-Q or 10-K; only the noncontrolling (CHS) balance of $2,654 million as of 30 Jun 2026 is given, and that is CHS's stake, not CF's, so it was not used to size CF's holding.
- CF's own carrying value in the Blue Point One joint venture is not separately disclosed; only the combined JERA+Mitsui noncontrolling-interest balance of $518 million as of 30 Jun 2026 is given (a combined balance covering two partners), and the VIE's own net assets ($815 million as of 30 Jun 2026) were not used to back into a 40% figure because CF does not itself disclose that split.
- No other equity-method investees, unconsolidated subsidiaries, or joint ventures beyond CFN, Blue Point One and Point Lisas Nitrogen Limited (PLNL) were found after searching the FY2025 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q for 'equity method', 'joint venture', 'unconsolidated', 'noncontrolling interest' and 'membership interest', and checking Exhibit 21 of the FY2025 10-K for a percentage column.
