Private company
Who owns Heartland Dental Holding Corporation
One company in the researched set discloses a stake in Heartland Dental Holding Corporation, worth $282m between them. Heartland Dental Holding Corporation is private, so no 13F reports it: a 13F covers exchange listed positions only. These figures exist because each holder disclosed the stake in its own filings.
Heartland Dental Holding Corporation - Profile
- Type
- private company
- Based in
- United States
- Founded
- 1997
Heartland Dental is the largest dental support organisation in the United States. It does not practise dentistry: it contracts with affiliated dental practices to run everything around the chair, including human resources, marketing, information technology, supply purchasing, insurance credentialing, accounting and practice management, so that the owner dentists can concentrate on clinical care. It also runs a large training operation, Heartland Dental University, with more than a thousand hours of clinical, leadership and business courses plus mentoring programmes for general practitioners moving into endodontics, implants and orthodontics. Dr Rick Workman founded the company in Effingham, Illinois in 1997 and it is still based there, supporting more than 3,100 doctors in over 1,900 practices across 39 states and the District of Columbia. It grows by affiliating existing practices and groups, and holds an investment in the Canadian dental group 123Dentist.
Source
Heartland Dental Holding Corporation files nothing with the SEC, so none of this comes from a filer record. The description was written for this site in August 2026 from About Heartland Dental (company website), KKR to Acquire Majority Interest in Heartland Dental (GlobeNewswire), Heartland Dental Announces Strategic Investment in 123Dentist (Heartland Dental) and Heartland Dental Grows to Support over 900 Dental Offices in 2018 (PR Newswire). The ownership figures below come from the holders' filings instead, and are sourced row by row.
The disclosed stakes
One row per position. Where a holder reports the same company in two share classes, both rows are shown rather than summed, because the class is part of a position's identity.
Where each figure comes from
A private stake has no ownership form behind it, so the source is always the holder's own filing or disclosure. Anything modelled says so, with the arithmetic.
- Align Technology, Inc., as of 30 Jun 2026. Confirms the unverified lead. Align's Q2 2026 10-Q (Note on Investments in Privately Held Companies) discloses Subscription Agreements with Heartland Dental Holding Corporation dated April 24, 2023 ($75.0m), April 22, 2024 ($75.0m), March 19, 2026 ($50.0m) and May 15, 2026 ($50.0m), total cash invested $250.0m, for Class A Common Stock. The 10-Q states the total equity interest acquired remained 'less than 5%' after every tranche, but does not disclose an exact percentage, so pct_of_target is left null rather than modelled. Align accounts for this as a non-marketable equity security under the measurement alternative (cost, minus impairment, adjusted for observable transactions in identical/similar securities of the same issuer), NOT the equity method: fair-value step-ups of $6.0m (Q4 2024) and $18.0m (Q4 2025) and $7.7m (Q1 2026) were recorded, bringing the carrying value to $174.0m at 31 Dec 2025, $231.7m at 31 Mar 2026, and $281.7m at 30 Jun 2026 (this figure). This carrying value is explicitly and individually disclosed for Heartland alone (not a combined balance), so it is used directly. share count and value_price_per_share are not disclosed and are not modelled because Heartland is private with no market price. source
What this page is not
It is not a complete register. It lists the holders who happen to be inside the researched set and disclosed the stake themselves. A private company can have many other shareholders, and nothing here rules them out: venture investors, founders and employees usually appear in no public filing at all. Percentages are of Heartland Dental Holding Corporation where a holder stated one, and are missing where no holder did.
