Private company
Who owns A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks)
One company in the researched set discloses a stake in A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks), worth $1.20bn between them. A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks) is private, so no 13F reports it: a 13F covers exchange listed positions only. These figures exist because each holder disclosed the stake in its own filings.
A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks) - Profile
- Type
- joint venture
- Based in
- United States
- Founded
- 1984
A+E Global Media is a New York based television and content company that programmes and distributes the A&E, History, Lifetime, FYI and LMN channels, produces original series and documentaries through A+E Studios, and licenses its library into streaming and international markets. It was founded in 1984 as A&E Television Networks, later traded as A+E Networks, and took the A+E Global Media name in 2025 to reflect a business that had moved from running cable channels toward producing and distributing content across platforms and territories. Alongside the channels it holds minority positions in media businesses including Vice Media, Atlas Obscura and the streaming service Philo.
Source
A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks) files nothing with the SEC, so none of this comes from a filer record. The description was written for this site in August 2026 from A+E Global Media (Wikipedia), Disney Sells Stake in A+E Global Media to Hearst (The Hollywood Reporter) and Hearst Clinches Deal to Buy Out A+E Global Media Stake From Disney (Variety). The ownership figures below come from the holders' filings instead, and are sourced row by row.
The disclosed stakes
One row per position. Where a holder reports the same company in two share classes, both rows are shown rather than summed, because the class is part of a position's identity.
Where each figure comes from
A private stake has no ownership form behind it, so the source is always the holder's own filing or disclosure. Anything modelled says so, with the arithmetic.
- The Walt Disney Company, as of 1 Jul 2026. In July 2026 (exact day not disclosed) Disney entered an agreement to sell its entire 50 percent interest in A+E to an affiliate of co-owner Hearst Corporation for approximately $1.2 billion cash. Closing is expected by the end of fiscal 2026, subject to customary closing conditions including regulatory approval, so this is a pending sale price, not a carrying value, and not yet closed as of this research. Disney recorded an $0.8 billion impairment on its A+E investment in the quarter ended 27 June 2026 ($1.0 billion for the nine months then ended). The equity-method carrying value of A+E specifically is not separately disclosed: Disney's combined 'Investments, equity basis' balance sheet line was $6,319 million at 27 September 2025 versus $2,680 million a year earlier, but that balance covers A+E, the 37 percent India joint venture and other equity-method investees together and cannot be allocated to A+E alone. sourcesource 2
What this page is not
It is not a complete register. It lists the holders who happen to be inside the researched set and disclosed the stake themselves. A private company can have many other shareholders, and nothing here rules them out: venture investors, founders and employees usually appear in no public filing at all. Percentages are of A+E Global Media (A+E Television Networks) where a holder stated one, and are missing where no holder did.
