UDR · NYSE · CIK 0000074208
UDR, Inc.
UDR, Inc. holds 3 disclosed positions, 3 of them carrying a sourced value.
UDR, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Real EstateGICS
- Industry
- Real Estate Investment TrustsSIC 6798
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 1,419stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Maryland
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from UDR, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
UDR
Description
UDR Inc. (formerly United Dominion Realty) is a publicly traded real estate investment trust that invests in apartments. The company is organized in Maryland with its headquarters in Highlands Ranch, Colorado. As of December 31, 2024, the company owned interests in 169 apartment communities containing 55.696 apartment units in 21 markets in the United States.
Equity stakes UDR, Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 517 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
517 managers reported a position, together holding 324.8m shares, or 100.0% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 324.9m shares outstanding at 27 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- UDR, Inc. is the listed REIT and operates through two SEC-adjacent partnerships: United Dominion Realty, L.P. (the 'Operating Partnership' or 'OP') and UDR Lighthouse DownREIT L.P. (the 'DownREIT Partnership'). Per UDR's Q2 2026 10-Q, as of 30 Jun 2026 there were 190.5 million OP Units outstanding, of which 177.2 million (93.0%) were owned by UDR itself and 13.3 million (7.0%) by outside limited partners; and 32.4 million DownREIT Units outstanding, of which 23.7 million (73.1%) were owned by UDR and its subsidiaries and 8.7 million (26.9%) by outside limited partners. OP Units and DownREIT Units are NOT UDR, Inc. common shares and are excluded from every register row's shares field per the project's rule; where a holder's interest includes such units (e.g. Thomas W. Toomey), the unit quantity is recorded in method_note instead.
- UDR, Inc. was historically named United Dominion Realty Trust (formed 1972 as a Virginia corporation; reorganized as a Maryland REIT in 2003). Register rows were matched to UDR on CUSIP 902653104 (issuer name as filed by 13F filers is generally 'UDR INC') rather than on the issuer-name string, per the project's rule for companies whose registrant carries an older legal name in some filer records.
- company.shares_outstanding is taken from the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page, which states: 'The number of shares of UDR, Inc.'s common stock, $0.01 par value, outstanding as of July 24, 2026 was 321,264,222.' UDR also has 2,600,678 shares of Series E preferred stock and 10,026,490 shares of Series F preferred stock outstanding as of 23 Mar 2026 per the proxy; these are non-convertible preferred shares, excluded from the common-share denominator used throughout this file.
- Holdings side: UDR holds unconsolidated minority interests in three named operating joint ventures disclosed individually with ownership percentages in Note 5 (Joint Ventures and Partnerships) of the Q2 2026 10-Q: UDR/MetLife (50.2%), UDR/LaSalle (51.0%), and the newly formed UDR/Carmel Partners (50.0%, formed May 2026 when Carmel Partners acquired MetLife's interest in five communities previously in the UDR/MetLife venture). All three are recorded as holdings rows with pct_of_target as a real percentage (e.g. 50.2, not 0.502) per the project's rule. Separately, the same note discloses a combined 'Debt and Preferred Equity Program' bucket covering 8 operating preferred-equity investments (3,319 apartment homes, $216,258,000 total investment at 30 Jun 2026) and a combined 'Real estate technology and sustainability investments' bucket ($91,536,000 at 30 Jun 2026). Neither bucket discloses which specific investees make up the total, so per the project's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, NEITHER is sized as an individual holding; both combined figures are recorded here and in unknowns instead. Exhibit 21 to UDR's FY2025 10-K was checked and is a bare subsidiary name list (Joint Venture entities shown in italics, with UDR/MetLife-affiliated entity names visible but no LaSalle- or Carmel-named entities and no ownership-percentage column beyond the general OP/DownREIT interest disclosure), a genuine negative for sizing individual investees by that route.
- Register self-gate, computed on this final file the way the chart computes it (raw shares summed, is_aggregate container reduced by its rolled-up member's shares): 8 rows. Vanguard 48,721,189 + BlackRock 31,250,868 + Norges Bank 29,452,071 + Capital Group 25,567,641 + State Street 19,385,427 + Cohen & Steers 15,418,373 + Toomey (member, full value) 890,455 + directors/officers group (reduced to residual, 1,428,025 minus Toomey's 890,455) 537,570 = 171,223,594 shares, 171,223,594 / 321,264,222 = 53.30% of shares outstanding. This is within the project's acceptable band (registers land 25 to 45% typically; up to 55% requires corroboration). Corroboration: this project's own 13F-derived register snapshot (data/registers/UDR.json, period 31 Mar 2026) reports total_shares_reported of 324,839,831 across 517 filers, slightly ABOVE UDR's 321,264,222 shares outstanding, meaning UDR is close to wholly institutionally held (consistent with a REIT with heavy index/active fund ownership and no founder or dual-class structure), so a concentrated institutional top six at 53% is expected rather than anomalous. Each of the six institutional rows here also corresponds to a distinct filer family the snapshot independently reports at a comparable size (Vanguard 49,652,425 in the snapshot vs 48,721,189 here; BlackRock 36,179,139 vs 31,250,868; Capital Group 25,634,147 vs 25,567,641; State Street 21,555,865 vs 19,385,427; Cohen & Steers 20,765,298 vs 15,418,373), confirming these are the same distinct holders rather than double counting (small differences reflect the snapshot's 31 Mar 2026 date versus this file's fresher 30 Jun 2026 13F reads).
- T. Rowe Price was checked per the project's rule (both registrants): T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. CIK 0000080255 held 469,781 shares of UDR ($18,754,000, a THOUSANDS-filer per the project brief, corrected here by x1000 from the raw $18,754 figure) as of 30 Jun 2026; T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. CIK 0001897612 held no UDR position. This combined T. Rowe position (0.15% of company) is smaller than the top 8 institutional/insider rows included in this register and was not added as a separate row; recorded here as a check performed and its result, per the project's rule that a checked-and-small position should be documented rather than silently omitted.
- APG Asset Management N.V. was not individually checked for this company; the project brief flags APG as a REIT-heavy filer that runs approximately 12% low on implied price as a known filer quirk (to be kept as filed, not corrected), noted here for completeness in case a future refresh of this register adds APG.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Individual ownership percentages of the 8 preferred-equity investees within UDR's combined 'Debt and Preferred Equity Program' bucket ($216,258,000 investment at 30 Jun 2026, 3,319 apartment homes) are not disclosed anywhere in the Q2 2026 10-Q or the FY2025 10-K's Exhibit 21; the combined balance cannot be assigned to any single investee.
- The composition and per-position sizing of UDR's combined 'Real estate technology and sustainability investments' bucket ($91,536,000 at 30 Jun 2026) is not disclosed; the 10-Q attributes an increase in income from unconsolidated entities in H1 2026 partly to 'realized and unrealized gains on real estate technology investments' but names no specific investee.
- Individual OP-unit and stock-option holdings for the 12 directors and executive officers other than Thomas W. Toomey within the 'All directors and executive officers as a group' aggregate are visible per-person in the proxy table (Jon A. Grove, Katherine A. Cattanach, Richard B. Clark, Ellen M. Goitia, Mary Ann King, Robert A. McNamara, Diane M. Morefield, Kevin C. Nickelberry, Mark R. Patterson, David D. Bragg, Michael D. Lacy, Keith Benson) but were not each broken into a separate register row here since none individually exceeds Toomey's size or crosses a materiality threshold worth a dedicated row; only the group aggregate and Toomey are included.
- market_cap_usd is derived from the last NYSE close of $37.51 (19 Aug 2026, via Nasdaq's public quote API) multiplied by shares_outstanding (321,264,222); UDR does not itself disclose a market cap figure in its filings.
