RMD · NYSE · CIK 0000943819
ResMed Inc.
No equity stake in another company appears in ResMed Inc.'s filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
ResMed Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Health CareGICS
- Industry
- Surgical & Medical Instruments & ApparatusSIC 3841
- Listed on
- NYSE, OTC
- Employees
- 10,600stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 30 June
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from ResMed Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
RMD
Description
ResMed Inc. is a medical equipment company based in San Diego, California, and founded in Australia. It primarily provides cloud-connectable medical devices for the treatment of sleep apnea (such as CPAP devices and masks), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), and other respiratory conditions. Resmed produced hundreds of thousands of ventilators and bilevel devices to help treat the respiratory symptoms of patients with COVID-19. Resmed also provides software to out-of-hospital care agencies to streamline transitions of care into and between these care settings for seniors and their care providers (i.e.
Who owns ResMed Inc..
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 926 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
926 managers reported a position, together holding 97.1m shares, or 66.9% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 145.1m shares outstanding at 27 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- ResMed's fiscal year ends 30 June. The newest filing by date is the FY2026 Form 10-K (period ended 30 Jun 2026, filed 13 Aug 2026), which postdates the last Form 10-Q (period ended 31 Mar 2026, filed 1 May 2026). The 10-K was used as the primary source for shares outstanding and the equity-investments note, per the known 30-June fiscal-year trap.
- shares_outstanding = 144,252,306 is stated on the FY2026 10-K cover page as of 10 Aug 2026 ('the registrant had 144,252,306 shares of Common Stock, $0.004 par value, issued and outstanding'), and explicitly excludes 46,798,043 shares held by a ResMed subsidiary (treasury-equivalent).
- ResMed is dual-listed: NYSE common stock (ticker RMD) is the primary listing, plus a secondary ASX listing via CHESS Depositary Interests (CDIs), also ticker RMD, established Nov 1999. Ten CDIs represent one NYSE common share (10:1 ratio), per the FY2026 10-K. CDI holders on the ASX are typically Australian retail and institutional investors who do not file US Schedule 13F, so that slice of the register is invisible to the 13F-based rows above. No ASX substantial-holder notice was pulled in this pass, so the CDI-side ownership is not sized here; the register below reflects only the NYSE common-share register as seen through 13F and the FY2025 DEF 14A proxy.
- Holdings side (what ResMed owns in others) is empty. Checked the FY2026 10-K (filed 13 Aug 2026, period ended 30 Jun 2026) with search terms: 'equity method', 'equity investments', 'non-marketable', 'unrealized gain', 'joint venture' (0 hits), 'unconsolidated', 'strategic investment' (0 hits), 'our investment in', 'minority interest in', 'ownership interest of' (0 hits), 'previously held investment'. Note (k) 'Equity Investments' and the equity-investments reconciliation table disclose only COMBINED balances across three buckets as of 30 Jun 2026: non-marketable equity securities $80,579k, marketable equity securities $3,359k, equity-method investments $76,801k, total $160,739k. No individual investee is named anywhere in the 10-K body. This is the combined-balance trap described in the research brief: the balance sizes none of the underlying investees, so no holding row is written; the total is recorded here instead.
- Exhibit 21.1 (Subsidiaries of the Registrant, as of 30 Jun 2026) was checked for an ownership-percentage column per the brief's technique. It carries none: it is a plain name-and-jurisdiction list of wholly owned subsidiaries only, with no joint ventures and no percentage-owned figures (matching the Labcorp/Darden pattern described in the chunk prompt, not the Quest/PPG pattern).
- ResMed's SaaS acquisitions named in the task brief (MatrixCare, Brightree, and related entities such as Brightree Patient Collections LLC, Brightree Home Health & Hospice LLC, Healthcare first Inc., VirtuOx LLC, Noctrix Health Inc.) all appear in Exhibit 21.1 as wholly owned subsidiaries, not as holdings. 'Somnoware' does not appear in the FY2026 Exhibit 21.1 subsidiaries list (it may fall below the significant-subsidiary threshold or have been merged/renamed into a listed entity); it is not treated as a holding either way, since a wholly owned acquisition is excluded by the brief regardless.
- 'Acquisition of controlling interest in previously held investment' ($3,000k) appears in the FY2026 equity-investments reconciliation, alongside a $4,353k 'Gain on previously held equity investment' in the cash-flow statement. Neither discloses the investee's name; the amounts are immaterial (about $3-4 million) and represent ResMed taking control of something already inside the combined equity-investments balance above, which then presumably became a consolidated subsidiary. Not sized or named, so not written as a holding.
- Register self-gate, computed on the final file exactly as the chart computes it (container rows reduced by their rolls_up_into members, non-container rows counted at full raw shares): 14 rows, total charted shares = 55,956,985, against shares_outstanding 144,252,306 = 38.79%. Within the expected 25-45% band.
- Register mixes two as_of bases by design: the 11 institutional rows are fresh Q2 2026 13F-HR filings (period 30 Jun 2026, filed Aug 2026), and the 3 insider rows (Michael Farrell, Peter Farrell, and the officers/directors group) come from ResMed's most recent DEF 14A, filed 2 Oct 2025, record date 23 Sep 2025. ResMed's FY2026 annual-meeting proxy (which would refresh the insider table) had not yet been filed as of this research date (19 Aug 2026).
- Vanguard's fresh Q2 2026 13F-derived family total (18,902,581 shares, 13.10%) is noticeably higher than the stale 13G/A figure ResMed's own Oct 2025 proxy cites (18,478,846 shares, 12.56%, from a Schedule 13G/A dated 13 Feb 2024); similarly BlackRock's fresh 13F total (12,317,194 shares, 8.54%) differs from the proxy's cited stale 13G figure (12,783,715 shares, 8.69%). Per the research brief, the fresher Q2 2026 13F figures are used as the register rows and the proxy's stale figures are recorded here rather than used.
- Capital Group was swept across its three main registrants (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848) using each entity's own Q2 2026 13F-HR information table. None held any ResMed position as of 30 Jun 2026 (CUSIP 761152107 not present in any of the three filings). Recorded as a note, not a null row, per the brief's rule that a holder checked and found at zero is a note.
- T. Rowe Price was checked on both registrants named in the research brief: T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. (CIK 0000080255), which holds 371,658 shares (row above), and T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612), which was checked and holds no ResMed position as of 30 Jun 2026. Recorded as a note, not a null row.
- The register above (14 rows across 6 fund families/managers, 4 additional institutions, and 3 insider rows) is not exhaustive of all ~926 13F filers reporting a ResMed position (per this project's 31-Mar-2026 RMD register snapshot, data/registers/RMD.json, total_shares_reported 97,086,019 across 926 filers on that date); it covers the top holders identified in that snapshot, refreshed to Q2 2026 13F filings where the holder itself files a 13F, plus the founder/CEO insider positions from the proxy.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Exact size of the ASX-listed CDI portion of the register (Australian retail/institutional holders investing via CHESS Depositary Interests) is not established; 13F filings only capture the NYSE common-share side. No ASX substantial-holder (Form 603/604) notice was checked in this pass.
- The split of the FY2026 combined equity-investments balance ($160,739k total: $80,579k non-marketable, $3,359k marketable, $76,801k equity-method) across individual investees is not disclosed in the 10-K and was not found elsewhere in this pass; no source names any individual investee.
- The identity and size of the 'previously held investment' in which ResMed acquired a controlling interest during FY2026 (a $3,000k line item in the equity-investments reconciliation, with a related $4,353k gain in the cash-flow statement) is not disclosed.
- Whether 'Somnoware' (named in the task brief as a ResMed SaaS acquisition) is still a distinct legal entity, and if so why it does not appear in the FY2026 Exhibit 21.1 subsidiaries list, was not further investigated.
- Precise beneficial-ownership percentages for the 14 individual directors/officers folded into the 'All directors and executive officers as a group' residual (Brett Sandercock, Justin Leong, Ronald Taylor, Karen Drexler, Richard Sulpizio, Carol Burt, Bobby Ghoshal, Harjit Gill, Michael Rider, Jan De Witte, Desney Tan, John Hernandez, Christopher DelOrefice, Nicole Mowad-Nassar) were not broken into individual rows; their share counts are in the proxy (source_url above) but were not modelled as separate register rows here to keep the file focused on the founder/CEO story per the brief's guidance.
