RSG · NYSE · CIK 0001060391
Republic Services, Inc.
Republic Services, Inc. holds 3 disclosed positions, 2 of them carrying a sourced value and 1 that nobody has sized.
Republic Services, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- IndustrialsGICS
- Industry
- Refuse SystemsSIC 4953
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 42,000stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Republic Services, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
RSG
Description
Republic Services, Inc. is a North American waste disposal company whose services include non-hazardous solid waste collection, waste transfer, waste disposal, recycling, and energy services. It is the second largest provider of waste disposal in the United States (as measured by revenue) after Waste Management. Its operations primarily consist of providing collection, transfer, and disposal of non-hazardous solid waste, recovering and recycling of certain materials, and energy services. The company is 35.1% owned by Bill Gates's Cascade Investment.
Equity stakes Republic Services, Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,304 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,304 managers reported a position, together holding 180.2m shares, or 58.6% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 307.7m shares outstanding at 30 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Cascade Investment / William H. Gates III is by far Republic's largest shareholder at 35.86% of shares outstanding as computed here, well above the usual 5 to 10 percent ceiling for a single register row. This is a real, independently corroborated common-stock position rather than a basis error: the Schedule 13D/A filed 20 Feb 2026 and the 2026 DEF 14A (filed 24 Mar 2026, a separate later document) both state the identical share count, 109,816,832 shares, from two different filings with two different preparers. The 13D/A also explains the position is essentially static and the reported percentage rose only because Republic's own share buybacks shrank the denominator, not because Cascade bought more stock. Two Republic directors are drawn directly from Cascade/the Gates Foundation Trust's investment office because of this relationship. Labeled holder_type 'strategic' rather than 'active' for this reason.
- Vanguard case: the parent, Vanguard Group Inc (CIK 0000102909), filed Form 13F-NT (a notice carrying no holdings) for the quarter ended 30 Jun 2026, consistent with its Jan 2026 internal realignment under which subsidiaries now report RSG holdings on a disaggregated basis. Per the PNC precedent, the successor entities are the position and are summed rather than substituted. Six successor entities hold RSG for Q2 2026 (21,772,718 shares combined, 7.11%); see the Vanguard register row's method_note for the full list of entities and CIKs, and two more (Vanguard Advisers Inc, Vanguard Marketing Corporation) were checked and hold zero.
- Capital Group family (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848) checked explicitly: only Capital World Investors holds RSG, 1,179,731 shares. The other two hold zero, confirmed by a broad 'REPUBLIC' fragment search across their full Q2 2026 info tables.
- Both T. Rowe Price entities (Associates CIK 0000080255 and Investment Management CIK 0001897612) checked explicitly and both hold RSG. Both report values in thousands of dollars on their Q2 2026 info tables; both were rescaled by 1000 here after confirming the resulting implied price per share (about $213.09) matches the cluster seen across every other Q2 2026 filer for CUSIP 760759100 (BlackRock, State Street, Norges Bank, FMR all imply the same price).
- Holdings side: three distinct equity-method or cost-method investments found in the FY2025 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q, each separately disclosed with its own carrying value or ownership percentage (no combined bucket problem): (1) an unnamed renewable natural gas landfill-gas-to-energy joint venture, carrying value $305 million at 30 Jun 2026, no ownership percentage or partner name disclosed; (2) Blue Polymers, LLC, a joint venture with Ravago JV Holdings, LLC, carrying value $95 million at 30 Jun 2026, no ownership percentage disclosed; (3) an unnamed financial surety bond company serving the environmental services industry, a 19.9 percent interest (written as 19.9, a percentage, not 0.199), no carrying value disclosed anywhere in the filings searched. All three carrying values are equity-method or cost-method book balances, not market values or share counts, so shares is null on each holdings row. Both 10-K and 10-Q were also searched for 'unconsolidated', 'investment in' and named RNG/recycling ventures; no additional named investees or combined-balance buckets were found beyond these three.
- Self-gate check, computed exactly as the chart computes it: 11 register rows (Cascade, the 6-entity Vanguard family roll-up, BlackRock, State Street, Geode, the 2-entity T. Rowe Price family roll-up, Capital Group, Norges Bank, FMR, plus 2 insider rows where the officers-group aggregate is reduced by Vander Ark's 126,125-share membership to its 240,605-share residual), summing to 180,112,859 shares against 306,212,978 shares outstanding, or 58.82%. This is above the usual 25 to 45 percent band and above the 55 percent flag threshold, but the excess is fully explained by the single Cascade/Gates strategic position (35.86% alone): removing Cascade from the sum leaves 70,296,027 shares, 22.96%, squarely within the normal band for the remaining institutional and insider holders. Per the brief, a genuine large strategic holder can legitimately push the total above the usual band, and this one is proven real via two independent, mutually corroborating filings as described above.
- Republic has a single class of common stock, $0.01 par value, one vote per share; no dual-class or founder-control structure exists for RSG itself.
- Market capitalization ($65.92 billion) and share price ($215.26) are stockanalysis.com's figures as of the 17 Aug 2026 close. Shares outstanding (306,212,978) is from the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page, dated 30 Jul 2026, and is more current than the 308,956,192 figure the proxy uses (9 Mar 2026) or the 308,804,970 figure the Feb 2026 13D/A uses; all register percentages in this file use the 306,212,978 figure consistently, even where a cited filing's own stated percentage used a different, slightly larger, contemporaneous denominator.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Four smaller or international Vanguard-family 13F filers (Vanguard Asset Management Ltd, Vanguard Capital Wealth Advisors, Vanguard Investments Australia Ltd, Vanguard V Venture Partners LLC) were not individually checked for RSG holdings within the time budget; if any hold RSG shares, the true Vanguard family total is somewhat higher than the 21,772,718 shares used here.
- The name of the landfill gas-to-energy developer partner in Republic's renewable natural gas joint venture (carrying value $305 million at 30 Jun 2026) is not disclosed by name in the FY2025 10-K or Q2 2026 10-Q text searched.
- Republic's percentage ownership interest in the renewable natural gas joint venture and in Blue Polymers, LLC is not disclosed in either filing searched; only dollar carrying values were found.
- The name and carrying value of the unnamed company in which Republic holds a 19.9 percent surety-bond interest are not disclosed in the FY2025 10-K beyond the percentage itself.
- Institutional holders beyond the nine covered here (for example Morgan Stanley, JPMorgan, Wellington, Franklin Resources, Wells Fargo) were not individually checked within the time budget; the nine covered plus Cascade and the two insider rows satisfy the brief's top 8 to 12 plus strategic/insider guidance.
- Dollar values for the two insider register rows (the officers/directors group and Jon Vander Ark) are null: the proxy's beneficial ownership table gives share counts and a '<1%' label but not a dollar value as of the 9 Mar 2026 record date, and no record-date share price was independently sourced, so a value was not estimated rather than guessed.
