OMC · NYSE · CIK 0000029989
Omnicom Group Inc.
No equity stake in another company appears in Omnicom Group Inc.'s filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
Omnicom Group Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Communication ServicesGICS
- Industry
- Services-Advertising AgenciesSIC 7311
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 100,000stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- New York
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Omnicom Group Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
OMC
Description
Omnicom Group Inc. is an American multinational media, marketing, and corporate communications holding company headquartered in New York City. Its branded networks and specialty firms provide services in four disciplines: advertising, customer relationship management (CRM), public relations, and specialty services. The services included in these disciplines are media planning and buying, digital and interactive marketing, sports and events marketing, field marketing, and brand consultancy.
Who owns Omnicom Group Inc..
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,109 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,109 managers reported a position, together holding 304.2m shares, or 110.9% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of a share count taken later than this quarter, because the count in force at the snapshot is not published as a structured fact for this company. Where the count has moved since, the figures are off by that much.
This adds up to more than the whole company, and that is what the filings say. A 13F total can exceed 100% because the same share can be reported twice: when a holder lends stock, the borrower sells it to someone else, and both the lender's manager and the new buyer's manager report it. The gap tracks how heavily a stock is shorted. It is a property of 13F rather than a fault in this data, so it is shown as filed, and it cannot be used as evidence that a particular holder's stake is large.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- MERGER: on 26 November 2025 (the Closing Date), Omnicom completed its all-stock merger with The Interpublic Group of Companies, Inc. (IPG), per the Q2 2026 10-Q's Note on the Merger. Exchange ratio 0.344 Omnicom shares per IPG share; IPG shareholders' shares converted into 124,352,188 shares of Omnicom common stock plus cash for fractional shares. Following closing, legacy Omnicom shareholders owned approximately 60.6% of the combined company and legacy IPG shareholders approximately 39.4%, on a fully diluted basis, per the 10-Q. Omnicom is the accounting acquirer under U.S. GAAP; IPG's results are included in Omnicom's consolidated results only from the Closing Date forward (not in Omnicom's 2025 full-year results).
- SHARE BASIS: company.shares_outstanding (274,345,967) is taken from the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page, 'As of July 22, 2026', which is the single denominator used throughout this file's register percentages. No stock split was found in the filings checked; the merger itself increased the share count roughly 83% over Omnicom's pre-merger base via newly issued shares, not a split.
- REGISTER BASIS AND FRESHNESS: every institutional register row now sits on the SAME measurement date, 30 Jun 2026 (Q2 2026), fetched directly from each holder's own Form 13F-HR information table rather than taken secondhand from this project's own OMC register (data/registers/OMC.json), which is one quarter staler at 31-MAR-2026 (Q1 2026, also post-merger). This file initially carried 7 of its 11 institutional rows (Vanguard, BNY Mellon, JPMorgan, Geode, MFS, Morgan Stanley, Fidelity/FMR) on that stale Q1 2026 project-register figure alongside 4 rows already refreshed to Q2 2026 (BlackRock, State Street, Capital Research Global Investors, T. Rowe Price Associates); mixing two measurement dates in one register draws a chart of a company that never existed on any single day, so all 7 were re-fetched from their own Q2 2026 13F-HRs in a follow-up pass. Every institutional row's per-holder method_note states both figures and the quarter-over-quarter change. The proxy-sourced officers-and-directors rows (aggregate, Wren, Krakowsky, Simm) remain dated 9 Mar 2026, the proxy's own table date; there is no fresher 13F-type source for insider ownership, only the next annual proxy.
- PROXY 13G CITATIONS NOT USED: the 2026 annual proxy's beneficial-ownership table cites a Vanguard Schedule 13G/A filed 13 Feb 2024 (23,239,184 shares) and a BlackRock Schedule 13G/A filed 24 Jan 2024 (18,140,257 shares), both dated well before the 26 Nov 2025 merger closing and therefore understated on the same pattern the brief warns about for Devon and Waters. Neither figure is used in this file; Vanguard and BlackRock rows instead use post-merger 13F data (see above). The proxy's State Street Schedule 13G, filed 8 Jan 2026, is post-merger and broadly consistent with this file's fresher 13F figure for State Street.
- HOLDINGS SIDE: Omnicom's own filings disclose only a single COMBINED equity-method-investments balance, not broken out by individual investee. The FY2025 10-K (Note 9) states: 'Equity method investments are not material to our results of operations or financial condition; therefore, summarized financial information is not required to be presented,' and gives only the combined proportionate share of net assets: $53.3 million at 31 Dec 2025 (versus $12.7 million at 31 Dec 2024). The balance sheet line 'Equity Method Investments' was $65.9 million at 31 Dec 2025 and $51.0 million at 30 Jun 2026 (Q2 2026 10-Q). Unlike some peers whose glossary or footnotes name individual minority-owned affiliates (e.g. Moody's naming CCXI and BitSight against its own combined balance), Omnicom's 10-K and 10-Q were searched for 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'affiliate', 'joint venture', 'investments in', 'minority interest', 'majority-owned' and named agency-network terms (Interbrand, Onclusive, TBWA, DAS Group, Critical Mass, 'local partner', 'local ownership'), and no individual minority-owned agency or joint venture was named anywhere in either filing. Per the combined-balance rule, since no investee name at all is disclosed (not even an unsized one), no holdings row is written; the combined balances above are the entire finding.
- NOT A HOLDING: Redeemable Noncontrolling Interests (temporary equity), $363.2 million at 31 Dec 2025 and $318.8 million at 30 Jun 2026 per the 10-K and 10-Q, represent local/minority partners' stakes IN Omnicom's own CONSOLIDATED subsidiaries (the reverse direction: what others own of Omnicom's agencies, not what Omnicom owns of others), so this is not a holding under the brief's definition and is recorded here only for completeness.
- No mention of client media commitments or client receivables being treated as, or confused with, equity stakes was found in the 10-Q or 10-K sections searched.
- SELF-GATE (computed from this final file, per the brief's own arithmetic, all 11 institutional rows now on the single 30 Jun 2026 date): 15 register rows. Members rolling into the officers-and-directors aggregate: Wren 1,344,071 + Krakowsky 104,299 + Simm 124,214 = 1,572,584; aggregate raw 2,302,346 minus members = residual 729,762 counted for the aggregate. Institutional rows sum to 150,574,605 shares (Vanguard 35,143,371 + BlackRock 28,593,656 + State Street 24,590,402 + BNY Mellon 12,551,916 + JPMorgan 12,085,435 + Geode 8,645,204 + MFS 8,305,876 + Morgan Stanley 5,877,632 + Capital Research Global Investors 6,722,774 + Fidelity/FMR 7,666,221 + T. Rowe Price Associates 392,118). Total charted shares = institutional rows (150,574,605) plus the 3 named insiders (1,572,584) plus the aggregate's residual (729,762) = 152,876,951 shares, which is 55.72% of shares_outstanding (274,345,967). Refreshing all rows to the same quarter moved the total down from 56.91% (the mixed-date version) to 55.72%, but it still sits just above the brief's rough 25-55% band. As on monster-beverage.json's Coca-Cola treatment, the driver is named explicitly rather than left implicit: Vanguard Group is this file's single largest row at 35,143,371 shares, 12.81% of the company. Excluding Vanguard alone, the remaining 14 rows sum to 117,733,580 shares, 42.92% of the company, squarely inside the normal band. Vanguard is not a strategic or founder-type concentrated holder (it is an index-fund family, the ordinary top holder on almost every large-cap register), so its size is not itself a red flag; the total lands slightly outside 55% because this file also carries 11 institutional rows rather than a shorter 8-holder list, and OMC's post-merger float is more concentrated among its top handful of institutions than the median S&P constituent. Reviewed again for the Devon/Marriott signatures (stale sources, missing top holders, double-counted family entities, a member double-rolled into two containers) and found none: every row now shares one measurement date, Vanguard/Capital Group/T. Rowe were enumerated per the brief's own instructions with no other successor or sibling entity found holding OMC, and the 17-person officers group sums exactly to its own three carried-out members plus an explicit residual with no double count.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- No individual minority-owned agency, joint venture, or equity-method investee is named anywhere in the FY2025 10-K or Q2 2026 10-Q; only the combined balance ($53.3 million proportionate net assets at 31 Dec 2025; $51.0-65.9 million gross balance-sheet line across the two periods checked) is disclosed. Checked: Item 1 Business, the equity-method accounting policy note, Note 9 (Equity Method Investments) in the 10-K, and the equivalent balance-sheet/MD&A lines in the Q2 2026 10-Q.
- The 2026 annual proxy's own dollar values for the officers-and-directors group and its members are not disclosed (only share counts and option counts), so value_usd is null on those four register rows.
- The exact date Omnicom's minority equity-method stakes were acquired, and whether any relate to markets with local-ownership requirements as the brief anticipated for advertising holding companies, is not stated in the filings checked; the 10-K's equity-method accounting policy note only gives the general recognition criteria (significant influence, under 50% ownership), not any transaction history.
