NI · NYSE · CIK 0001111711
NiSource Inc.
NiSource Inc. holds 2 disclosed positions, 0 of them carrying a sourced value and 2 that nobody has sized.
NiSource Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- UtilitiesGICS
- Industry
- Electric & Other Services CombinedSIC 4931
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 7,687stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from NiSource Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
NI
Description
NiSource Inc. is one of the largest fully regulated utility companies in the United States, serving approximately 3.5 million natural gas customers and 500,000 electric customers across six states through its local Columbia Gas and NIPSCO brands. The company, based in Merrillville, Indiana, has more than 8,000 employees. As of 2018, NiSource is the sole Indiana-based utility company.
Equity stakes NiSource Inc. holds in other companies.
No position on this side carries a sourced value, so there is nothing to chart. The table still lists 2 of them.
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 865 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
865 managers reported a position, together holding 453.8m shares, or 94.6% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 479.4m shares outstanding at 29 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- The NIPSCO minority sale: NiSource sold a 19.9% equity interest in NIPSCO Holdings II LLC (sole owner of the operating utility NIPSCO) to a Blackstone Infrastructure Partners affiliate in December 2023 for $2.16 billion cash. NiSource retains the other 80.1% and consolidates NIPSCO Holdings II under the voting interest model (not as a VIE). This is recorded as a holding at NiSource's own 80.1%, per this project's convention for a controlled-but-not-wholly-owned consolidated subsidiary. The instrument on both sides is an unlisted LLC equity/membership interest, not common stock; there is no current market value disclosed, so shares and value_usd are null rather than modelled from the 2023 transaction price.
- A second, smaller, structurally identical transaction (the 'GenCo Minority Interest Transaction') closed October 2025: NiSource issued a 19.9% equity interest in Generation Holdings II LLC (sole owner of GenCo, the generation-development subsidiary) to Blackstone affiliates BIP Orion Holdco L.P. and BIP Orion Holdco II L.P. for an initial $35.2 million, with up to $1.325 billion more available from Blackstone over 7 years. NiSource retains 80.1%, confirmed unchanged as of the Q2 2026 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026). Generation Holdings II is consolidated as a VIE.
- NiSource's noncontrolling-interest balance sheet line (within total equity) sizes the Blackstone minority interests in NIPSCO Holdings II and Generation Holdings II combined; it was deliberately NOT used to size NiSource's own 80.1% retained stake in either entity, per the explicit instruction for this research task.
- NIPSCO also consolidates four renewable-energy joint ventures as VIEs (Rosewater and Indiana Crossroads Wind; Indiana Crossroads Solar and Dunns Bridge I), each with third-party tax equity partners under HLBV accounting. No specific NiSource ownership percentage is disclosed for these in the FY2025 10-K or the FY2025 Exhibit 21 (a plain subsidiary name list with no ownership-percentage column, like Darden's and Labcorp's per this project's prior findings), so these are not sized as holdings here; see unknowns.
- Register: 8 rows (7 institutional index/active managers plus the directors-and-officers-as-a-group insider row), summing to 206,879,584 shares against 479,560,100 shares outstanding, computed exactly as the chart's self-gate formula specifies (no is_aggregate/rolls_up_into rows present, so every row counts at full value): 206,879,584 / 479,560,100 = 43.14%.
- T. Rowe Price and Cohen & Steers both file 13F value columns in THOUSANDS of dollars for this quarter; confirmed via the implied-price-per-share check against the cross-filer cluster (~$47.5-47.6/share for period 30 Jun 2026). value_usd left null on those rows rather than guessed at scale.
- Capital Group's three main registrants (Capital World Investors 0001422849, Capital International Investors 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors 0001422848) were each checked by full-CUSIP search of their Q2 2026 13F-HR information tables (637, 446 and 426 rows respectively) and hold zero NiSource shares; not included as a row.
- NiSource also has outstanding preferred stock (Series A, B and C, aggregate liquidation preference $400M/$500M/$863M respectively per the FY2025 10-K) and, via the NIPSCO/GenCo minority transactions, LLC equity units held by Blackstone in non-listed subsidiaries. No preferred or non-common instrument is counted into shares_outstanding or into any register row's shares; every register row above was matched against CUSIP 65473P105, the common stock CUSIP.
- DEF 14A 5% owner figures (Vanguard 53,932,502/11.3%, T. Rowe Price IM 50,331,635/10.5%, BlackRock 47,256,914/9.9%, State Street 23,762,068/5.0%, all as of 16 Mar 2026 per stale Schedule 13G data) are superseded in this file by fresh Q2 2026 13F-HR figures per this project's convention; both figures are recorded here for reconciliation rather than one overwriting the other.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Current fair value / implied enterprise value of NIPSCO Holdings II and of Generation Holdings II is not disclosed anywhere checked (10-K, 10-Q); only the original 2023 ($2.16bn for 19.9%) and 2025 ($35.2M for 19.9% plus up to $1.325bn more) transaction considerations are on record, and those are stale/partial by definition, so no value_usd was modelled for either holding.
- Ownership percentages for NIPSCO's four consolidated renewable-energy JVs with tax equity partners (Rosewater, Indiana Crossroads Wind, Indiana Crossroads Solar, Dunns Bridge I) are not disclosed as simple percentages in the FY2025 10-K (HLBV/tax-equity structures typically split economics unevenly across taxable income, cash and capital, not as one ownership %) and Exhibit 21 carries no percentage column, so these are not recorded as holdings.
- Whether Blackstone's percentage in Generation Holdings II has moved above 19.9% since the Q2 2026 10-Q as further capital is contributed under the up-to-$1.325bn commitment was not checked past the most recent (30 Jun 2026) filing.
- Individual-director share counts beyond the small set quoted in the DEF 14A excerpt used here were not independently re-summed against the '19 persons' group total; the group total itself (1,761,289 shares) is taken directly from the proxy's own subtotal rather than recomputed from individual rows.
- No 13D or other activist filing against NiSource was found in a web search covering 2026; register appears to be entirely passive institutional/index plus a small insider group, with no sovereign or strategic corporate holder identified.
