HIG · NYSE · CIK 0000874766
The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc.
No equity stake in another company appears in The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc.'s filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- FinancialsGICS
- Industry
- Fire, Marine & Casualty InsuranceSIC 6331
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 19,200stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website was checked for this site against the company's own pages. The headcount is the figure the sources below state for 2025. The description was written for this site in August 2026 from The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025, Form 8-K dated February 6, 2025 reporting the corporate name change and The Hartford (Wikipedia), not taken from any single article.
Share price
HIG
Description
The Hartford Insurance Group is a property and casualty insurer and group benefits provider headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut, tracing its origin to the Hartford Fire Insurance Company founded there in 1810. It took its present legal name on 6 February 2025, when the board amended the charter to change the corporate title from The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., keeping the NYSE ticker HIG. Business runs through five reportable segments: Business Insurance, Personal Insurance, Property and Casualty Other Operations, Employee Benefits and Hartford Funds. Business Insurance accounted for 58 percent of consolidated 2025 earned premium, Employee Benefits 27 percent and Personal Insurance 15 percent, while the Hartford Funds segment managed $154.2 billion of assets at year end. Total revenues were $28.4 billion in 2025, net income was $3.8 billion, and headcount was about 19,200 at 31 December 2025.
Who owns The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc..
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,170 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,170 managers reported a position, together holding 250.0m shares, or 91.2% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 274.1m shares outstanding at 22 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- NAME CHANGE: the registrant's current legal name, confirmed on the cover page of the newest 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026, filed 23 Jul 2026), is 'The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc.' Per SEC EDGAR's own former-names record (data.sec.gov/submissions/CIK0000874766.json), this name has been in effect since 6 Feb 2025, succeeding 'HARTFORD FINANCIAL SERVICES GROUP, INC.' (in effect 2019-2025), which itself succeeded 'HARTFORD FINANCIAL SERVICES GROUP INC/DE' (1997-2019) and, before that, 'ITT HARTFORD GROUP INC /DE'. Some 13F filers (all Vanguard-family entities, BlackRock, State Street, Geode, Invesco, Dimensional, Northern Trust, MFS and T. Rowe Price Associates checked here) already report the current issuer name 'HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP INC' on CUSIP 416515104; every row in this register was matched on that CUSIP, never on the issuer name string, per the project's specific instruction for this company.
- INSURER INVESTMENT PORTFOLIO EXCLUDED (Assurant treatment, not Cincinnati Financial's): The Hartford's balance sheet carries a large general-account investment portfolio backing policy liabilities: total investments of $63,999 million as of 30 Jun 2026 (10-Q MD&A), of which 'Limited partnerships and other alternative investments' alone is $6,135 million (9.6% of the portfolio), itself broken out into real estate joint ventures and funds ($2,064m, 33.7%), private equity funds ($2,436m, 39.7%), other funds ($1,044m, 17.0%) and other alternative investments. These are primarily recorded using the equity method of accounting per the 10-Q's own language, and the 10-K separately discloses an aggregated 'equity method investees' balance of $5,313 million carrying value (FY2025, up from $4,552 million in FY2024) against combined investee total assets of $396,968 million and total liabilities of $69,322 million. None of this is a genuine strategic or named-operating-company stake: it is the insurance analogue of the money-market/index-fund style positions the project brief excludes, so per the project's specific instruction for insurers and following the Assurant treatment (not the Cincinnati Financial treatment), it is NOT enumerated as holdings here. The corpus is inconsistent on this point and this choice is being made explicit per the task instructions.
- COMBINED BALANCES, NOT SIZED TO ANY INVESTEE: the $6,135 million limited-partnerships-and-alternative-investments balance (10-Q, June 2026) and the $5,313 million equity-method-investees balance (10-K, FY2025) are both combined figures covering many underlying limited partnerships, real estate JVs, real estate funds and private equity funds; no individual fund or JV is named or sized in either filing. Per the project's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, neither figure is attached to any named holding; both are recorded here and in unknowns.
- EXHIBIT 21 CHECKED, GENUINE NEGATIVE: the FY2025 10-K's Exhibit 21.01 (hig12312025-10xkex2101.htm) is a bare organizational list of domestic and foreign subsidiaries and their state/country of incorporation, with NO ownership-percentage column anywhere in it (confirmed by searching the exhibit for '%', 'percent' and 'owned': zero hits on all three). It lists wholly owned licensed insurance subsidiaries and service companies (e.g. Hartford Fire Insurance Company, Hartford Casualty Insurance Company, Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company, Hartford Funds Management Company LLC, Hartford STAG Ventures LLC), all of which are excluded per the project's rule against wholly owned operating subsidiaries. This is treated as a genuine negative, not evidence of looking in the wrong place.
- NAMED VIE, NOT AN EQUITY STAKE: the FY2025 10-K discloses that the Company has two reinsurance agreements with Foundation Re IV, a special-purpose catastrophe-bond reinsurance vehicle the Company evaluated as a VIE but concluded it does not have a variable interest requiring consolidation. The Company is the CEDING (reinsured) party under these agreements, not an equity holder in Foundation Re IV; third-party investors hold the notes issued by the vehicle. This is not a holding and is not carried as one.
- NO NAMED PRIVATE-COMPANY STAKE FOUND: searched the newest 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026, hig-20260630.htm) and the newest 10-K (FY2025, filed 20 Feb 2026, hig-20251231.htm) in full for 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'joint venture', 'investments in unconsolidated', 'limited partnerships', 'other investments', 'variable interest entit', 'significant influence', 'investment in affiliate', 'cost method' and 'non-marketable equity'. Every hit traces back either to the combined general-account investment portfolio (excluded above) or to Schedule II 'Investment in affiliates' on the PARENT-ONLY condensed balance sheet (an SEC-required disclosure of the holding company's investment in its own wholly owned, consolidated insurance subsidiaries, not a third-party stake). No named joint venture, unconsolidated affiliate or private minority stake in an operating company was found anywhere in either filing.
- IDENTIFYING THE NEWEST FILING: the newest 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026, filed 23 Jul 2026) postdates the FY2025 10-K (filed 20 Feb 2026), so the 10-Q was used for the freshest quarterly investment-portfolio figures and the cover-page share count, while the 10-K was used for the fuller annual footnote disclosure (equity-method-investees table, Exhibit 21) that the 10-Q does not repeat.
- TICKER NOTE: the registrant also has a listed preferred issue, HIG-PG (per data.sec.gov/submissions), and reports 13,800 preferred shares outstanding on the 10-Q cover page (unchanged across periods, likely in a different unit convention than common shares). This register and company.shares_outstanding are for the COMMON stock (ticker HIG) only, matching CUSIP 416515104; the preferred issue is out of scope.
- VANGUARD CASE: parent CIK 0000102909 filed Form 13F-NT (notice, no holdings) for Q2 2026, so per the project's rule the 8 successor entities were swept and summed (see method_note on the Vanguard row for the full per-entity breakdown and CIKs: Fiduciary Trust, Investments Australia, Asset Management Ltd, Personalized Indexing Management, Global Advisers, National Trust Co, Capital Management LLC and Portfolio Management LLC). This is independently corroborated by the DEF 14A's own footnote describing Vanguard's March 2026 internal realignment and resulting parent-level dropout from beneficial ownership reporting.
- CAPITAL GROUP CHECKED, GENUINELY ZERO: checked all three primary registrants (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848) against their own Q2 2026 13F-HR information tables (filed 12 Aug 2026). None of the three has any row matching the name fragment 'HARTFORD' (a safe fragment, confirmed working correctly on every other holder in this register). This project's own data/registers/HIG.json snapshot also carries NO Capital Group entity at all for HIG, consistent with the brief's warning that the snapshot can omit Capital Group entirely; the direct 13F check here independently confirms the family genuinely holds nothing, so it is recorded as a note rather than a null or zero row.
- T. ROWE PRICE INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CHECKED, GENUINELY ZERO: CIK 0001897612 (a registrant separate from T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc., CIK 0000080255, which does hold and is carried above) filed its own Q2 2026 13F-HR (14 Aug 2026) with no row for CUSIP 416515104 or the name fragment 'HARTFORD'. Recorded as a note, not a row, per the project's rule that a holder checked and found at zero is a note, not a null row.
- IMPLIED-PRICE CHECK: every register row's implied price (value / shares) as filed clusters between approximately $132.51 and $134.62 per share for the 30 Jun 2026 quarter, after correcting T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. for its known values-in-thousands filer quirk (corrected from a raw implied price of roughly $0.13/sh to approximately $132.52/sh, a 1000x factor, consistent with every other row). MFS's implied price of $134.62/sh is the only row above $133, about 1.5% high, most likely reflecting a mix of intra-quarter lot dates across MFS's many managed sub-funds rather than a units or basis error; kept as filed and flagged here.
- CUSIP TRAP AVOIDED (Fidelity/FMR): FMR LLC's own Q2 2026 13F-HR information table carries two distinct CUSIPs when searched for the fragment 'HARTFORD': 416515104 'HARTFORD INSURANCE GROUP INC [COM]' (the company, 7 lines, 10,504,786 sh, used here) and 41653L859 'HARTFORD FDS EXCHANGE TRADED [ALPHA CAP]' (7,197 sh, $224,629), which is Hartford Funds' exchange-traded fund range, a DIFFERENT issuer entirely. The ETF line was identified and excluded, never summed into the company's row, exactly per the hazard flagged for this company.
- SELF-GATE (computed on this final file, chart arithmetic, no rolls_up_into members and no is_aggregate rows so every row counts at full value): 11 rows, total raw shares = 36,574,823 (Vanguard) + 30,690,101 (BlackRock) + 16,070,450 (State Street) + 10,504,786 (FMR) + 8,241,043 (Geode) + 5,667,341 (Invesco) + 4,787,638 (Dimensional) + 3,595,887 (Northern Trust) + 2,856,115 (MFS) + 2,206,847 (T. Rowe Price Associates) + 3,601,039 (insider group) = 124,796,070 shares, 124,796,070 / 270,872,002 = 46.07% of shares outstanding. This is within the project's expected 25-45% band (marginally above at 46.07%, well under the 55% corroboration trigger), and is corroborated per holder against this project's own 31 Mar 2026 13F-derived snapshot at data/registers/HIG.json (1,170 filers, 250,007,920 shares reported, 250,007,920 / 270,872,002 = 92.3% of the company, i.e. very heavily institutionally held, so a concentrated top-11 list summing to ~46% is expected): Vanguard 36,870,767 there against 36,574,823 here; BlackRock 31,741,678 against 30,690,101; State Street 16,058,482 against 16,070,450; Fidelity/FMR 11,115,127 against 10,504,786; Geode 8,206,222 against 8,241,043; Invesco 5,065,873 against 5,667,341; Dimensional 4,699,459 against 4,787,638; Northern Trust 3,896,192 against 3,595,887; MFS (Massachusetts Financial Services Co) 2,820,192 against 2,856,115; T. Rowe Price Associates 3,144,459 against 2,206,847 here, a real decline also consistent with the implied-price check confirming it is not a units error. All eleven correspond to distinct filer families at consistent size, confirming no double count.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The split of the FY2025 10-K's $5,313 million combined 'equity method investees' carrying value across individual investees (real estate JVs, private equity funds, other funds and other alternative investments) is not disclosed; no single investee is named or sized.
- The split of the 30 Jun 2026 10-Q's $6,135 million combined 'limited partnerships and other alternative investments' balance across individual funds or joint ventures is not disclosed beyond the four broad categories (real estate JVs and funds, private equity funds, other funds, other alternative investments); no single fund is named or sized.
- value_usd for the insider aggregate register row is not disclosed by the proxy (only a share count and a group percentage are given on the record date), so it is left null here rather than modelled from an unstated per-share price.
- The exact record date and source (13G vs 13G/A, and its as-of date) behind the DEF 14A's stale BlackRock figure of 24,135,643 shares was not individually broken out in the footnote text retrieved; the fresher Q2 2026 13F-HR figure was used regardless per the project's rule, so this does not affect any figure carried in this file.
