EXC · Nasdaq · CIK 0001109357
Exelon Corporation
No equity stake in another company appears in Exelon Corporation's filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
Exelon Corporation - Profile
- Sector
- UtilitiesGICS
- Industry
- Electric & Other Services CombinedSIC 4931
- Listed on
- Nasdaq
- Employees
- 34,000date not stated
- Incorporated in
- Pennsylvania
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Exelon Corporation's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure Wikidata carries, undated, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
EXC
Description
Exelon Corporation is an American public utility headquartered in Chicago, and incorporated in Pennsylvania. Exelon is the largest electric parent company in the United States by revenue and is the largest regulated electric utility in the United States with approximately 10 million customers. The company is ranked 187th on the Fortune 500.
Who owns Exelon Corporation.
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,257 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,257 managers reported a position, together holding 899.1m shares, or 87.9% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 1.02bn shares outstanding at 31 Mar 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Exelon spun off Constellation Energy Corporation on 1 February 2022. The Q2 2026 10-Q (filed 2026-07-30) confirms only a residual Tax Matters Agreement (TMA) governing pre-separation tax liabilities/refunds between Exelon and Constellation; there is no retained equity stake, no mention of Constellation as an investee, and no consolidation or equity-method relationship. Confirmed via full-text search of the filing for 'Constellation', 'separation', 'spin-off' and 'spinoff'.
- Holdings search: the Q2 2026 10-Q (exc-20260630.htm) and the FY2025 10-K (exc-20251231.htm) were searched for 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'joint venture', 'equity investment(s)', 'venture', 'ownership interest', 'noncontrolling interest', 'PJM Interconnection', 'Nuclear Electric Insurance/NEIL' and 'member interest'. The only hit of substance was a combined 'Equity method investments' line item ($15 million at the Exelon parent level, $6M ComEd, $7M PECO, $1M PHI, $0 BGE/Pepco, per the FY2025 10-K fair-value-of-plan-assets table) sitting alongside Rabbi trust investments and other investments inside a deferred-compensation/benefit-plan fair value hierarchy note. It is not identified by named investee, is immaterial, and per the brief's rule a combined balance is never assigned to one investee, so no holdings row was created from it; it is reported here for transparency, not as a holding.
- No holdings rows are included: Exelon's structure is a pure regulated transmission and distribution utility holding company (ComEd, PECO, BGE, Pepco Holdings/Pepco/DPL/ACE), all wholly owned and excluded from this database by the brief. No minority equity-method operating stakes, joint ventures, or strategic/venture-capital investments were found in the filings searched.
- Register self-gate: 13 rows, summed per the brief's formula (aggregate row reduced by its one named member, Calvin Butler, to avoid double counting): 444,699,043 shares against 1,032,253,967 shares outstanding = 43.08% of the company. This falls within the brief's expected 25 to 55 percent band.
- No Schedule 13D or 13G activist/strategic/sovereign holders were found beyond the standard passive index/active managers already listed; EDGAR shows only routine SC 13G/A amendments from the same institutional filers, most recently November 2024, with none since.
- Institutional share counts and values are as filed in each manager's Q2 2026 (period 2026-06-30) Form 13F-HR information table on CUSIP 30161N101, read directly from EDGAR via scripts/filing.py; none of these figures were taken from an aggregator.
- Company-level market cap and current share price (as of 17 Aug 2026) are sourced from stockanalysis.com, an aggregator; basis for that field is not filed. Shares outstanding (1,032,253,967 as of 30 Jun 2026) is instead sourced directly from the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- No sourced figure for individual director/NEO ownership beyond what the DEF 14A beneficial ownership table itself breaks out; 'All other executive officers' (46,476 shares) is a combined figure covering an unnamed number of additional officers, not attributable to any one person.
- Could not find a distinct Exelon corporate venture arm or named strategic/venture investment vehicle (searched for 'Exelorate', 'Constellation Technology Ventures', 'corporate venture' in both the 10-K and 10-Q; no hits). If Exelon operates one, it was not disclosed in these filings.
- The $15 million (Exelon parent level) 'Equity method investments' line in the FY2025 10-K fair-value note is not broken out by counterparty name anywhere in the filing text searched, so its investee(s) and Q2 2026 balance are unknown.
