ESS · NYSE · CIK 0000920522
Essex Property Trust, Inc.
Essex Property Trust, Inc. holds 7 disclosed positions, 2 of them carrying a sourced value and 5 that nobody has sized.
Essex Property Trust, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Real EstateGICS
- Industry
- Real Estate Investment TrustsSIC 6798
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 1,750stated 2023
- Incorporated in
- Maryland
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Essex Property Trust, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2023, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
ESS
Description
Essex Property Trust is a publicly traded real estate investment trust that invests in apartments in California and in the Seattle metropolitan area. As of December 31, 2023, the company owned interests in 252 apartment complexes, aggregating 61,997 apartment units, and 3 commercial office buildings, comprising 283,000 square feet.
Equity stakes Essex Property Trust, Inc. holds in other companies.
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 601 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
601 managers reported a position, together holding 62.1m shares, or 96.7% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 64.3m shares outstanding at 22 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- COVER PAGE AND UPREIT STRUCTURE: Essex Property Trust, Inc. (the REIT, CIK 0000920522, ticker ESS) files a single COMBINED Form 10-Q/10-K with its operating partnership, Essex Portfolio, L.P. (a California limited partnership, no publicly traded equity, Commission File Number 333-44467-01). shares_outstanding (64,268,439) is the REIT's own cover-page figure: 'shares of Common Stock ($.0001 par value) of Essex Property Trust, Inc. were outstanding as of July 23, 2026', from the Q2 2026 10-Q filed 30 Jul 2026, NOT the Operating Partnership's unit count. The 10-Q states the Company maintains a strict one-for-one relationship between OP Units issued to Essex and shares of Essex common stock outstanding, and OP Units can be exchanged into Essex common stock on a one-for-one basis; this 1:1 mechanical relationship is what let this file restate the Wesco/BEX ownership percentages and related figures with confidence, but it does NOT make an OP unit a common share for register purposes. Every register row in this file is denominated in Essex Property Trust, Inc. common stock, CUSIP 297178105 (cross-checked by the consistent ~$291.6 implied per-share price appearing on nearly every institutional row, a Q2-2026-dated price). The one holding in this file that is genuinely denominated in OP units and DownREIT partnership units, not common shares, is George M. Marcus's insider position; see its method_note for the full breakdown and why shares/pct_of_company were left null there rather than mixed with the common-share basis used everywhere else in this register.
- HOLDINGS SIDE SUMMARY: Essex is a joint-venture-heavy multifamily REIT, as anticipated. As of 30 Jun 2026 (10-Q Note 4, 'Co-investments'), Essex's real-estate co-investments are presented in the filing itself as THREE combined buckets rather than itemized per entity: 'Wesco I, Wesco III, Wesco IV, Wesco V and Wesco VI' (55% weighted average ownership, $68,998,000 combined carrying value), 'BEX IV and 500 Folsom' (50% weighted average ownership, $133,022,000), and 'Other' (53% weighted average ownership, $109,746,000, known to include at least Expo and Silver by name per the table's own footnote). Total operating and other co-investments, net: $311,766,000 (30 Jun 2026) vs $304,371,000 (31 Dec 2025). Separately, Essex holds five unconsolidated TECHNOLOGY co-investments (unnamed, $86.0 million aggregate commitment, $91.5 million balance as of 30 Jun 2026) and a combined 'Total preferred equity co-investments' balance of $192,872,000 (which includes $30.5 million of related-party investments and one preferred equity investment held with Wesco VII, LLC, a 50%-owned joint venture). Grand total co-investments, net, per the balance sheet: $504,638,000 (30 Jun 2026) vs $531,713,000 (31 Dec 2025). None of the three real-estate buckets, nor the combined preferred equity total, is disaggregated by individual entity anywhere in the 10-Q or the FY2025 10-K, so per the brief's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, every affected holdings row carries value_usd: null (the technology co-investment balance is the one exception, since it IS reported as its own distinct, non-blended total). The three real-estate buckets are recorded here as three GROUP-LEVEL holdings rows using the filing's own bucket boundaries and weighted-average percentages, rather than inventing a further per-entity split the 10-Q itself refuses to give; this mirrors how this project's Extra Space file refused an 'other ventures' bucket rather than sizing individual members of it.
- FY2025 10-K Exhibit 21.1 (subsidiaries list, ess-123125xex211.htm) was checked for an ownership-percentage column that might size these ventures more precisely, per the brief's suggested technique. It is a BARE NAME LIST with no percentage column at all (like AvalonBay's and Labcorp's exhibits, unlike PPG's or Quest Diagnostics'): it lists Essex's own holding-entity names (e.g. 'Essex Wesco III, L.P.', 'Essex Wesco IV, LLC', 'Essex Wesco SSF LLC (fka Wesco Alexan Icon, LLC)', 'Essex Wesco V, LLC', 'Essex Wesco VI, LLC', 'Essex Wesco VII, LLC') which are Essex's OWN subsidiary vehicles used to hold its interest in each Wesco joint venture, not the joint venture entities' own cap tables, and carries no ownership percentages. Confirms Wesco I through VII exist as distinct entities but adds no sizing data beyond the 10-Q's own disclosures. Treated as a genuine negative per the brief.
- PREFERRED EQUITY / RELATED PARTY: Essex holds (or has held) at least three named-by-location preferred equity investments in entities sponsored by an affiliate of the Marcus & Millichap Company ('MMC'), which is chaired by Essex's own Chairman and founder, George M. Marcus, making these related-party transactions (10-Q Note 6). Two remain active as of 30 Jun 2026: Ventura, CA (400 units, $11.0 million funded as of 30 Jun 2026, 9.0% preferred return, matures Dec 2028, no further unfunded commitment remains) and Azusa, CA (three multifamily communities, $11.2 million funded Aug 2022, 9.5% preferred return, matures Aug 2027, current balance not separately disclosed). A third, Burlingame, CA (268-unit development, $18.6 million funded Oct 2018), was FULLY REDEEMED in Q2 2026: the Company received $11.2 million in a 2023 partial redemption and $24.0 million in a May 2026 final redemption; per this project's convention that a fully exited position is recorded as a note rather than a zero/null holdings row, no row was created for it. The 10-Q states the combined related-party preferred equity balance was $30.5 million as of 30 Jun 2026 (down from $52.8 million at 31 Dec 2025, a decline consistent with the Burlingame exit), covering the Ventura and Azusa positions together, not split between them. These are PREFERRED equity/mezzanine instruments carrying a stated preferred return, explicitly a different instrument from Essex's common-equity co-investment interests in the Wesco/BEX/Other real-estate JV buckets above; pct_of_target is null on both rows for this reason, per the brief's instruction to say plainly which instrument type is being recorded.
- Capital Group family: all 11 registrants named in the chunk-prompt guidance were checked directly against their own Q2 2026 13F filings. Three filed 13F-NT with no holdings at all (Capital Research & Management Co 0000017283, Capital Group Companies, Inc. 0000732812, Capital Group International, Inc. 0000949308). Of the 8 that filed 13F-HR, only Capital World Investors (CIK 0001422849) holds Essex stock: 89,972 shares, $26,234,935 (implied price ~$291.65/sh, consistent with every other row), 0.14% of the company as of Q2 2026. This is far too small to rank in the top 8-12 holders, so it is recorded here as a note rather than a register row. The other 7 13F-HR filers were each checked directly against CUSIP 297178105 with zero matches: Capital International Investors 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors 0001422848, Capital Group Investment Management Pte Ltd 0001939970, Capital Group Private Client Services Inc 0001857666, Capital International Inc/CA/ 0000895213, Capital International Ltd/CA/ 0001065350, Capital International Sarl 0001065349.
- Vanguard family sweep: 7 successor entities hold (summed into the register row above, matching this project's own ESS.json snapshot's 7-entity breakdown exactly), and 3 further entities filing under the Vanguard name were also checked directly and confirmed to hold ZERO Essex shares as of Q2 2026: Vanguard Advisers Inc 0000947529, Vanguard Marketing Corporation 0000217448, Vanguard National Trust Co 0001984256. The 7-entity sum used in the register row is complete as far as this sweep could determine.
- No SC 13D or SC 13G/A has been filed against Essex Property Trust since 14 Nov 2024 (checked EDGAR's full SC 13 filing history for CIK 0000920522), so there is no fresher activist or strategic filing than the register sweep performed here; every institutional register row is instead sourced to its own fresh Q2 2026 13F, per the brief's preference for a fresh 13F over a stale 13G quoted in a proxy. Cohen & Steers's proxy-quoted stale figure (6,648,555 sh, 10.3%, sourced to an earlier Schedule 13G/A) was refreshed downward by 1,733,882 shares using its Q2 2026 13F; see that row's method_note for the reconciliation. No holder's fresh 13F figure moved in a way that suggested a units, thousands, or double-counting error once implied-price-checked; every institutional row here lands within about 1.5% of a consistent ~$291.6/share implied price.
- Self-gate computed from this final file, following the chart's own arithmetic (members at full value; the two insider rows carry shares: null and so contribute 0, avoiding the exact kind of OP-unit inflation the brief's Blackstone Schwarzman example warns about; no other row rolls up into another): 12 institutional register rows, 40,598,706 total shares (Vanguard 10,398,149 + BlackRock 7,430,141 + State Street 5,211,810 + Cohen & Steers 4,914,673 + T. Rowe Price 3,357,197 + Principal 2,092,902 + Geode 1,953,203 + Norges Bank 1,607,742 + Dimensional 1,000,799 + Schwab 939,663 + Northern Trust 862,383 + JPMorgan 830,044), against shares_outstanding 64,268,439 = 63.17% of the company. This is ABOVE the brief's expected 25-45% band, the same shape AvalonBay's file (also a REIT, 59.32%) hit and shipped after investigation. The cause was investigated rather than shipped blind: the top 5 holders alone (Vanguard 16.18%, BlackRock 11.56%, State Street 8.11%, Cohen & Steers 7.65%, T. Rowe Price 5.22%) sum to 48.72% of the fresh Q2 2026 13F total, which cross-checks closely against the stale 2026 proxy's own 5%-owner table for the same five names (15.8% + 10.3% + 10.0% + 8.0% + 5.2% = 49.3%, all as of the March 2026 Record Date), an independent source computed on a different date using a different methodology (proxy beneficial-ownership disclosure vs 13F position reporting) landing within 0.6 percentage points. Every institutional row's implied per-share price also lands within about 1.5% of a single consistent value (~$291.6, the approximate Essex share price around the Q2 2026 quarter-end), ruling out a units, thousands, or double-counting error on any row (both real thousands-convention traps this file found, Cohen & Steers and T. Rowe Price, were caught and corrected via exactly this check). Essex, an $18.5bn mid-cap REIT with a small (2.97%) insider/founder position and no dual-class structure, is simply unusually concentrated among its largest few institutional holders, consistent with the brief's observation that large Vanguard/BlackRock/Cohen & Steers rows are normal for REITs, taken to its logical extent rather than evidence of an error.
- Market cap is a computed figure: a Yahoo Finance quote, $287.36 as of 2026-08-19 (the most recent trading data available at fetch time, 20 Aug 2026), multiplied by the 23 Jul 2026 10-Q cover-page share count, 64,268,439. The two dates are about four weeks apart because no single filing carries both a current price and a current share count; disclosed rather than treated as precise.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The combined carrying values for the three real-estate co-investment buckets ('Wesco I, Wesco III, Wesco IV, Wesco V and Wesco VI' $68,998,000; 'BEX IV and 500 Folsom' $133,022,000; 'Other' $109,746,000, all as of 30 Jun 2026) are not broken out per individual entity in any filing found. Searched the Q2 2026 10-Q (Note 4, Co-investments) and the FY2025 10-K Exhibit 21.1 without finding a per-entity carrying value or ownership percentage. No value_usd could be sourced for any of the three group-level holdings rows, nor could Wesco I, III, IV, VI, BEX IV, 500 Folsom, Expo, or Silver be individually sized or valued.
- The combined 'Total preferred equity co-investments' balance ($192,872,000 as of 30 Jun 2026) is not disaggregated between the Wesco VII position, the MMC-affiliated related-party positions (Ventura and Azusa), and any other unnamed preferred equity or loan investments it may contain. No value_usd could be sourced for the Wesco VII row; only a subsequent, imprecisely-dated $36.2 million incremental funding figure is available, and it was kept out of value_usd since it represents new funding, not the total position value, and its exact date is not disclosed (only 'subsequent to quarter end', between 30 Jun 2026 and the 30 Jul 2026 filing date).
- No names were found anywhere in Essex's public filings for the five unconsolidated technology co-investments (Note 4 language: 'unconsolidated technology co-investments'). Searched the 10-Q, the FY2025 10-K, and Exhibit 21.1 for 'venture capital', 'proptech', 'technology' and related terms without finding a single company or fund name. No per-entity holdings row could be created; only the combined $91.5 million balance and $86.0 million aggregate commitment are recorded, against the combined bucket rather than any individual investee.
- No current (30 Jun 2026) carrying value was found for the Azusa, CA MMC-affiliated preferred equity investment; only its original $11.2 million funding amount (Aug 2022) is disclosed, blended thereafter into the combined $30.5 million related-party total with the Ventura position.
- George M. Marcus's beneficial ownership (1,959,498 shares / 2.97% per the 2026 proxy) could not be cleanly restated onto a common-shares-outstanding basis: after accounting for the disclosed OP-unit, DownREIT-unit, and entity-held components (totalling roughly 1,578,573 units-equivalent and 190,443 itemized actual shares), an unreconciled residual of about 190,482 shares remains that the available proxy text does not further break down. Recorded as shares: null per the brief's OP-units rule rather than guessed at; see the row's method_note for the full itemization.
- Individual director and named-executive-officer holdings below George M. Marcus (Kleiman, Guericke, Pak, Lyons, Johnson, Morrison, Kasaris, Hawthorne, Arabia, Burns, Gust) were read from the 2026 proxy but not itemized as separate register rows since all are 'Less than 1%' individually; only the 12-person aggregate and George M. Marcus are recorded.
- Market cap is a computed figure (a same-week but not same-day price times the 23 Jul 2026 cover-page share count), not read directly off a page that states market cap; see the note on the date mismatch.
