EW · NYSE · CIK 0001099800
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation holds 1 disclosed position, 0 of them carrying a sourced value and 1 that nobody has sized.
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation - Profile
- Sector
- Health CareGICS
- Industry
- Orthopedic, Prosthetic & Surgical Appliances & SuppliesSIC 3842
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 14,000date not stated
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Edwards Lifesciences Corporation's own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure Wikidata carries, undated, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
EW
Description
Edwards Lifesciences Corporation is an American medical technology company headquartered in Irvine, California, specializing in tissue heart valves and transcatheter technologies for the treatment of structural heart disease. The company has manufacturing facilities at the Irvine headquarters, as well as in Draper, Utah; Costa Rica; Singapore; and Limerick, Ireland. The company is also constructing a manufacturing plant in Moncada, near Valencia, Spain, with a €150 million investment. Production is scheduled to begin in 2027.
Equity stakes Edwards Lifesciences Corporation holds in other companies.
No position on this side carries a sourced value, so there is nothing to chart. The table still lists 1 of them.
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,272 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,272 managers reported a position, together holding 503.6m shares, or 87.5% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 575.8m shares outstanding at 30 Apr 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Holdings, corrected: an earlier draft of this file stated no named investee or per-investee figure exists anywhere in the filings. That was wrong and has been corrected after a coordinator re-read of the same 10-Q. Redone with the specific terms 'VIE', 'variable interest', 'promissory note', 'option to acquire', 'preferred equity securities' and 'NMTC' against both the Q2 2026 10-Q (period 2026-06-30, filed 4 Aug 2026) and the FY2025 10-K (filed 25 Feb 2026): (1) the Consolidated VIE (Note 7) is unnamed but DOES carry a sourced ownership percentage, 26.7%, and is recorded above as a holding. (2) JenaValve Technology, Inc. IS named (Note 5/9 VIE disclosures) but is NOT an equity holding: Edwards signed an Agreement and Plan of Merger for JenaValve in July 2024, the FTC obtained an injunction blocking the acquisition on 9 Jan 2026, and Edwards and JenaValve terminated the Merger Agreement on 14 Jan 2026 (FY2025 10-K, Note 9). Per the Merger Agreement's termination clause, Edwards forgave the outstanding Bridge Loan and invested in a $45.0 million CONVERTIBLE PROMISSORY NOTE in January 2026 (10-Q). A convertible note is debt, not equity, and the filings disclose no conversion, no share count and no ownership percentage, so JenaValve is deliberately left out of holdings rather than guessed at; the $45.0m note is a real position but not an equity one, and is out of scope for this holdings list. (3) Two other VIE relationships remain genuinely unnamed in both filings: 'a medical technology company' (preferred equity securities $35.0m plus a now-terminated option, $40.0m impairment recognised June 2026) and 'a medical device company' from a Feb 2019 warrant agreement (option $35.0m plus $77.5m in convertible-note advances, fully impaired with a $123.6m loss in March 2026, i.e. now believed worthless). Neither is named in either filing, so neither can carry a source-backed target_name. (4) Note 5's New Markets Tax Credit (NMTC) program LLC investments (part of the $36.9m equity method investments bucket) are a tax-credit financing structure, not a strategic equity stake in an operating company, and are excluded from holdings on that basis. (5) Aggregate buckets remain as previously reported: as of 30 Jun 2026, equity method investments carrying value $36.9m, marketable equity securities $28.8m, non-marketable equity securities (privately held companies) $135.6m, total $201.3m (vs $34.7m/$7.1m/$185.5m/$227.3m at 31 Dec 2025); these totals include the unnamed VIEs above and are not separately broken out per investee beyond what is quoted here.
- One formerly-optioned VIE, Autus Valve Technologies, Inc. (a pediatric pulmonary heart valve developer), was fully acquired via step acquisition on 6 Feb 2026 per the 10-Q; it is now a consolidated subsidiary, not a minority equity holding, so it is excluded from holdings.
- Capital Group family: all three filing entities named in the brief (Capital World Investors CIK 1422849, Capital International Investors CIK 1562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 1422848) were checked for period 2026-06-30 via their own 13F-HR information tables; none contain an EDWARDS LIFESCIENCES row. Not included in the register because the position is genuinely zero, not because it was skipped.
- DEF 14A (filed 26 Mar 2026) 'Stock Ownership of Certain Beneficial Owners' table cites STALE Schedule 13G data: Vanguard as of 31 Dec 2024 (69,131,602 sh, 11.72%) and BlackRock as of 30 Sep 2025 (44,267,376 sh, 7.5%). Both are materially lower than the Q2 2026 13F-derived figures used in this register (Vanguard combined 64,027,354 sh; BlackRock 58,789,433 sh, as of 30 Jun 2026), so the fresher 13F data was used instead of the proxy's older 13G citations, per the brief's reconciliation rule. Both figures are recorded here for the record.
- Self-gate (computed as specified): 12 register rows, none of which are aggregates with member rows rolling up into them (the insider row is a standalone proxy-level aggregate with no separately-listed members in this file), so every row counts at full value. Total shares = 64,027,354 (Vanguard) + 58,789,433 (BlackRock) + 26,321,940 (State Street) + 22,783,175 (JPMorgan) + 16,827,967 (Wellington) + 15,437,251 (Geode) + 14,084,483 (BNY Mellon) + 8,435,949 (FMR) + 8,373,783 (Norges Bank) + 5,671,229 (Northern Trust) + 2,857,608 (T. Rowe Price) + 1,805,393 (insiders) = 245,415,565. 245,415,565 / 576,400,000 shares outstanding = 42.58%, within the expected 25-45% band.
- Wellington Management Group LLP, JPMorgan Chase & Co. and Bank of New York Mellon Corp were added after a coordinator review flagged their absence from the top holders. Each was sourced from its own Q2 2026 (period 2026-06-30) 13F-HR information table, summed per CUSIP, filed after this file's first draft: Wellington accession 0000902219-26-000311 (filed 14 Aug 2026), JPMorgan accession 0000019617-26-000325 (filed 12 Aug 2026), BNY Mellon accession 0001390777-26-000087 (filed 6 Aug 2026). All three still hold EW at 30 Jun 2026; none had exited.
- Edwards has a single class of common stock ($1.00 par value); no dual-class or founder-control structure, so share_classes is omitted.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The name of the Consolidated VIE (the private medical device company, 26.7%-owned by Edwards, developing therapies for advanced heart failure) is not disclosed anywhere in the 10-Q; only its business description and ownership percentage are given.
- A standalone fair value of Edwards's post-consolidation 26.7% equity stake in the Consolidated VIE is not disclosed; only the pre-consolidation fair value of Edwards's combined option/notes/preferred position ($172.3m) and the fair value of the noncontrolling interest ($112.4m) are given, which is why value_usd is null on that holding.
- Identity of the two other unnamed VIE counterparties ('a medical technology company' with $35.0m in preferred equity securities and a now-terminated option; 'a medical device company' from a Feb 2019 warrant agreement, now fully impaired) and any per-investee carrying value within the remaining aggregate buckets (equity method $36.9m, marketable equity securities $28.8m, non-marketable equity securities $135.6m as of 30 Jun 2026): the 10-Q and 10-K disclose only aggregate totals and anonymised counterparties for these two.
- Morgan Stanley and other large active managers beyond the twelve sourced here were not individually checked against EW's 13F universe due to the tool-call budget; the register may still be missing a name or two inside the top 8-12.
- No 13D/13G activist or strategic filings beyond the two already cited in the DEF 14A (Vanguard, BlackRock) were independently searched; a fresh EDGAR full-text search for any 2026 13D/G on Edwards was not run.
