DVA · NYSE · CIK 0000927066
DaVita Inc.
DaVita Inc. holds 1 disclosed position, 0 of them carrying a sourced value and 1 that nobody has sized.
DaVita Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Health CareGICS
- Industry
- Services-Misc Health & Allied Services, NECSIC 8090
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 78,000stated 2025
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from DaVita Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2025, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
DVA
Description
DaVita Inc. (a shortened contraction of "dare vita, meaning "to give life" in the Italian language) is an American health care company, incorporated in Delaware and headquartered in Denver, that provides kidney dialysis services through a network of 2,657 outpatient centers in the United States. DaVita serves 200,500 patients (36% of the total of 557,000 patients in the U.S.), and has 585 outpatient centers in 14 other countries serving 94,500 patients. The company primarily treats end-stage renal disease (ESRD), which requires patients to undergo kidney dialysis, often 3 times per week for the rest of their lives unless they receive a kidney transplant via organ donation.
Equity stakes DaVita Inc. holds in other companies.
No position on this side carries a sourced value, so there is nothing to chart. The table still lists 1 of them.
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 574 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
574 managers reported a position, together holding 62.1m shares, or 96.7% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 64.2m shares outstanding at 5 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- HOLDINGS SIDE: DaVita's newest filing by date is the Q2 2026 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026, filed 4 Aug 2026), fresher than the FY2025 10-K (period 31 Dec 2025, filed 11 Feb 2026); both were searched in full for 'equity method', 'equity investments', 'joint venture', 'noncontrolling interests', 'nonconsolidated', and 'non-marketable equity securities'. DaVita reports a single balance-sheet line 'Equity method and other investments': $183,801 thousand at 30 Jun 2026, up from $157,249 thousand at 31 Dec 2025. The FY2025 10-K's Note 8 breaks the Dec-2025 figure into three buckets: Mozarc Medical Holding LLC $0 (see the holdings row above, a genuine named 50/50 JV with Medtronic, Inc.), 'Other equity method partnerships' $133,486 thousand (explicitly described as 19 unnamed legal entities, mostly U.S. dialysis-partnership LLCs, with varying ownership percentages not individually disclosed), and 'Adjusted cost method and other investments' $23,763 thousand (also an unnamed combined bucket). Per project rule, a combined balance covering many unnamed investees sizes none of them, so neither of these two buckets produced a holdings row; both figures are recorded here and in unknowns instead. The Q2 2026 10-Q does not repeat this three-way breakdown, so the FY2025 10-K figures are the most recent entity-level disclosure available.
- DaVita Medical Group (DMG), DaVita's former physician/integrated-care business, was CONFIRMED SOLD, not merely assumed sold: the FY2025 10-K states DaVita 'completed the sale of its prior DaVita Medical Group (DMG) business to a subsidiary of Optum, Inc., a subsidiary of UnitedHealth Group, Inc.' on 19 Jun 2019, and that DaVita's contingent indemnification obligations to Optum for the pre-sale DMG business expired in Q4 2025. DaVita retains no equity interest in DMG/Optum; this is a checked negative, not an assumption.
- Exhibit 21.1 to the FY2025 10-K (subsidiaries list) was checked and carries NO ownership-percentage column: it is a bare two-column list of legal-entity name and jurisdiction of organization only (hundreds of wholly/majority-owned single-clinic LLCs and partnerships, e.g. 'Aberdeen Dialysis, LLC, Delaware'), consistent with the project's Labcorp precedent. This is a genuine negative rather than evidence of looking in the wrong place; it does not itemize the 19 nonconsolidated dialysis partnerships covered by the combined equity-method bucket above.
- REGISTER: DaVita's register is dominated by Berkshire Hathaway, which is by a wide margin DaVita's largest shareholder, at roughly 45% of the company, under an explicit share repurchase agreement disclosed in the DEF 14A: entered 30 Apr 2024, it requires DaVita to repurchase shares from Berkshire quarterly, at any time Berkshire's aggregate beneficial ownership is at or above 45.0% of outstanding Common Stock, sufficient to return Berkshire to 45.0%, with an immediate mandatory repurchase trigger if ownership would exceed 49.5%. During 2025 DaVita repurchased 3,386,505 shares from Berkshire under this agreement for approximately $485 million (average $143.11/sh). This mechanism explains why Berkshire's position sits persistently just at or above 45% across both the DEF 14A's 31 Mar 2026 snapshot (30,100,585 sh, 45.5%) and the fresher Q2 2026 13F (28,880,209 sh, 45.27%): DaVita's own continuing buybacks shrink the share count, which mechanically pushes Berkshire's percentage up until DaVita's quarterly repurchase from Berkshire brings it back down. Berkshire's Q2 2026 13F-HR figure (28,880,209 shares, $6,425,268,898, filed 14 Aug 2026) exactly matches this project's own existing data/research/berkshire.json holding for DaVita (28,880,209 shares, pct_of_target 45.27), independently re-verified here from the same primary source (CIK 0001067983 13F-HR, CUSIP 23918K108).
- Register self-gate, computed on this FINAL file using the chart's own formula (raw shares summed, aggregate container reduced to its residual against the one member row that rolls up into it): 10 rows, total 42,514,404 shares (28,880,209 Berkshire + 3,773,582 Vanguard family + 2,460,987 BlackRock + 1,601,710 Morgan Stanley + 1,211,917 Invesco + 1,323,019 State Street + 1,137,814 Dimensional Fund Advisors + 853,602 Geode + 845,144 Javier J. Rodriguez + 426,420 residual of the 1,271,564-share officers/directors aggregate after subtracting Rodriguez's 845,144), divided by shares_outstanding 63,800,000 = 66.64%.
- This 66.64% self-gate is above the project's normal 55% ceiling, so it was corroborated rather than shipped on its own arithmetic, per the added chunk-44 guidance. Three checks: (1) Every curated row corresponds to a distinct filer family that this project's own data/registers/DVA.json snapshot (31 Mar 2026) also reports at a comparable size: Berkshire 30,100,585 (snapshot) vs 28,880,209 (this file, fresher Q2 date), Vanguard family 3,975,068 vs 3,773,582, BlackRock 2,766,751 vs 2,460,987, Morgan Stanley 1,666,038 vs 1,601,710, Invesco 1,467,881 vs 1,211,917, State Street 1,351,737 vs 1,323,019, Dimensional Fund Advisors 1,145,436 vs 1,137,814, Geode 939,781 vs 853,602; all eight land within roughly 5-17% of the snapshot's independent figure and every one trends DOWN toward the fresher Q2 date, consistent with the general market-wide passive/active flow pattern rather than a double-count. (2) The snapshot's total_shares_reported across all 574 13F filers is 62,068,837 shares, which is approximately 94% of the 65,944,342 shares outstanding at the proxy's 9 Apr 2026 record date, meaning DaVita is close to wholly institutionally and Berkshire-held with very little free float, so a top-10 register concentrated above 55% (and headlined by one holder at 45%) is the EXPECTED shape for this specific company rather than an anomaly to be found and fixed. (3) Back-solving the denominator from the DEF 14A's own 5%-owner table: Berkshire 30,100,585 / 45.5% = approximately 66.15 million shares, and BlackRock 3,994,011 / 6.0% = approximately 66.57 million shares; both independently land close to the 65,944,342 record-date share count the same proxy states explicitly, confirming the proxy's own denominator is self-consistent and, by extension, that this file's shares_outstanding (63,800,000, a few months later and net of further 2026 buybacks) is a reasonable continuation of that same trend.
- Capital Group was checked across all three registrants named in project guidance (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848), each read directly for CUSIP 23918K108 in its Q2 2026 13F-HR: all three report NO DaVita position. T. Rowe Price was checked on both registrants: T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. (CIK 0001897612) reports NO DaVita position in its Q2 2026 13F-HR; T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. (CIK 0000080255) reports a small position, 102,272 shares total across 2 lines, filed with a VALUE of $22,755 which is in THOUSANDS of dollars (a known T. Rowe Price filer quirk per project guidance): $22,755,000 / 102,272 sh implies approximately $222.48/sh, consistent with every other Q2 2026 row in this file, confirming the units read. At 102,272 shares (0.16% of the company) this position is too small to warrant its own register row given the project's top-8-to-12 scope and is recorded here instead as a checked, sized negative rather than a row.
- Neither of DaVita's two register rows sourced to the DEF 14A (Javier J. Rodriguez and the directors/officers aggregate) carries a filed dollar value; value_usd for both is DERIVED from the $153.69 per-share closing price the same proxy separately cites (as of 31 Mar 2026, in a footnote valuing a director's SSARs), not itself a proxy-stated market value for these specific holdings, and is presented for chart usability rather than as a filed figure.
- Coordinator verification of the 66.64 per cent self-gate, which sits above the project's 55 per cent investigate-rather-than-ship line. It was investigated and is genuine: on this company a very high register is the finding rather than a defect, because one strategic holder is close to half the company. Four checks. First, the Berkshire row was cross-verified against a source this file's researcher did not write: data/research/berkshire.json, researched independently in an earlier chunk, asserts 28,880,209 DaVita shares at 45.27 per cent as of 30 Jun 2026, which matches this register's Berkshire row to the share. That is the two-researchers-agree evidence the project's crosscheck exists to surface, and it is the case the brief flags as a genuine miss when absent, so DaVita's register carrying Berkshire closes it. Second, the denominator agrees across both files at 63,800,000 common shares per the Q2 2026 10-Q cover page. Third, this project's own 13F-derived snapshot at data/registers/DVA.json reports 62,068,837 shares across 574 filers, approximately 97.3 per cent of shares outstanding, so DaVita is close to wholly held by Berkshire plus institutions and a top-ten total of 66.64 per cent is consistent rather than anomalous. Fourth, the insider overlap was checked directly: the container 'All directors and executive officers as a group' holds 1,271,564 shares and its one listed member, Javier J. Rodriguez at 845,144, is correctly reduced out of it, leaving a residual of 426,420. Excluding Berkshire, the remaining nine rows total 13,634,195 shares or 21.37 per cent, which sits inside the project's normal band, so the entire excess over the band is the single disclosed Berkshire stake.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The individual ownership percentages and carrying values of the 19 unnamed 'other equity method partnerships' (mostly U.S. dialysis-partnership LLCs) inside DaVita's combined $133,486 thousand (31 Dec 2025) equity-method bucket are not disclosed by name in the FY2025 10-K or the Q2 2026 10-Q; Exhibit 21.1 (subsidiaries list) was checked and carries no ownership-percentage column that would size any of them individually.
- The identity, ownership percentages and carrying values of whatever is inside DaVita's combined $23,763 thousand (31 Dec 2025) 'Adjusted cost method and other investments' bucket are not disclosed.
- Mozarc Medical Holding LLC's carrying value as of 30 Jun 2026 (the newest 10-Q date) is not disclosed; the FY2025 10-K's 31 Dec 2025 figure ($0) is the most recent entity-level figure available, and the combined 'Equity method and other investments' total did rise between the two dates ($157,249 thousand to $183,801 thousand) but the 10-Q does not attribute that change to Mozarc specifically versus the other two buckets.
- No formation-transaction value, initial investment amount, or acquisition date for DaVita's 50% stake in Mozarc Medical Holding LLC was located in the two filings searched (FY2025 10-K, Q2 2026 10-Q); only the current 50/50 ownership split and the accounting history of the carrying-value writedown to zero were disclosed.
- Other than the 12 individually-named directors/officers in the DEF 14A's beneficial-ownership table (all under 1% each, listed inside this file's aggregate-row method_note but not broken out as separate register rows), no further named insider or 13D/13G strategic holders beyond Berkshire and BlackRock were found; the DEF 14A's 5%-owner table names only those two.
