DRI · NYSE · CIK 0000940944
Darden Restaurants, Inc.
No equity stake in another company appears in Darden Restaurants, Inc.'s filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
Darden Restaurants, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- Consumer DiscretionaryGICS
- Industry
- Retail-Eating PlacesSIC 5812
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 191,105stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Florida
- Financial year ends
- 31 May
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Darden Restaurants, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
DRI
Description
Darden Restaurants, Inc. is an American multi-brand restaurant operator headquartered in Orlando, Florida. Darden has more than 2,100 restaurant locations and more than 200,000 employees, making it the world's largest full-service restaurant company. The company began as an extension of Red Lobster, founded by William Darden and initially backed by General Mills. Red Lobster was later sold in July 2014.
Who owns Darden Restaurants, Inc..
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 1,009 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
1,009 managers reported a position, together holding 110.6m shares, or 96.9% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 114.1m shares outstanding at 31 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- Fiscal periods used: Darden's fiscal year ends in late May. The most recent 10-K covers fiscal year ended 31 May 2026, filed 24 Jul 2026 (accession 0000940944-26-000025). This postdates Darden's most recent 10-Q (quarter ended 22 Feb 2026, filed 27 Mar 2026) by four months, so per the brief's guidance the fiscal-year-end 10-K is the fresher and correct document for both the holdings search and company.shares_outstanding; there is no later 10-Q because the fiscal Q4 is covered by the annual report rather than a fourth 10-Q. The register uses each institutional holder's own Q2 2026 (30 Jun 2026) Form 13F-HR, the most recent quarter available as of 18 Aug 2026, and the 2026 DEF 14A (filed 10 Aug 2026, beneficial-ownership table as of 31 May 2026) for the insider row.
- Holdings side: searched the latest 10-K (FY2026, filed 24 Jul 2026, https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/940944/000094094426000025/dri-20260531.htm) via scripts/filing.py search and prose for 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'joint venture', 'noncontrolling interest', 'non-marketable', 'nonmarketable', 'strategic investment', 'affiliate', 'minority interest', 'equity investment', 'investments in', 'equity securities', 'long-term investments', 'other assets, net', and 'cost method'. 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'noncontrolling interest', 'non-marketable'/'nonmarketable', 'minority interest', 'equity investment' and 'cost method' returned zero hits. 'joint venture' returned exactly one hit, a section header ('Franchises, Joint Ventures, and New Business Development') introducing text about wholly owned, franchised, and licensed restaurants, not an actual joint-venture entity or equity stake. No equity-method investment, unconsolidated affiliate, non-marketable equity security, or named investee of any kind was found anywhere in the 10-K, so the holdings array is empty. This is a sourced finding rather than an unchecked gap.
- Exhibit 21 (subsidiaries list) was also checked per project convention, since a combined equity-method balance can sometimes be resolved there by ownership percentage. Darden's Exhibit 21 (https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/940944/000094094426000025/dri-202610xkex21.htm) lists 16 subsidiaries (GMRI/Olive Garden, RARE Hospitality/LongHorn Steakhouse, Yard House USA, Ruth's Hospitality Group, Capital Grille Holdings, Chuy's Opco, Cheddar's Casual Cafe, Eddie V's Holdings, and others) with no ownership percentage stated for any of them; unlike Quest Diagnostics or PPG's exhibits, this one does not disclose partial ownership stakes because every entity listed is a wholly owned operating subsidiary of a brand Darden owns outright. None of these are holdings under the brief's definition.
- Franchise, licensing, and international-venture agreements were checked and explicitly excluded, consistent with the brief's treatment of Genuine Parts and Snap-on's independent dealer/franchise networks. The 10-K states Darden had 167 restaurants operated by independent third parties under area development and franchise agreements, plus 80 franchised restaurants outside the United States (Canada, Latin America, the Caribbean, and elsewhere) as of 31 May 2026, and states explicitly: 'We do not have an ownership interest in any of these franchisees, but we receive fees under the area development and franchise agreements and royalty income under the franchise or license agreements.' No international joint-venture entity, minority equity position in a foreign operator, or venture-capital/innovation fund vehicle (of the kind Chipotle holds via its Cultivate Next Fund) was found in Darden's filings. Restaurant real estate, leases, and management/franchise fee arrangements are operating relationships, not equity stakes, and are excluded on that basis.
- One immaterial item checked and excluded: the 10-K discloses 'one Yard House restaurant that we jointly own with a third party and operate independently' among Darden's US restaurant count. No dollar value, ownership percentage, or counterparty name is disclosed anywhere in the filing; Darden states it 'maintains control over the use of our service marks and receive[s] management fees' for this and similarly structured properties, consistent with an operating arrangement rather than a sized minority equity stake in another company. Not included as a holding because it is unsized, undisclosed as to ownership split, and immaterial to a $24.85bn company; noted here rather than left silent.
- Also checked and excluded: Darden's fiscal 2025-2026 divestiture of certain Olive Garden restaurants in Canada to Recipe Unlimited ('Recipe'). At closing, Darden and Recipe entered into an area development agreement and franchise agreements under which Recipe operates the divested and future restaurants under the Olive Garden name and pays Darden royalties; this is a franchise/royalty relationship following a sale, not a retained equity stake in Recipe, and Darden discloses no ownership interest in Recipe.
- T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc.'s Q2 2026 13F-HR info table reports position value in thousands of dollars (confirmed via the implied-price cross-check against BlackRock, State Street, and Capital World Investors, all clustering at approximately $206.02/share for the same CUSIP and date); the register row above uses the corrected, rescaled dollar value.
- Vanguard Group Inc (parent CIK 0000102909) filed Form 13F-NT (a notice carrying no holdings) for the quarter ended 30 Jun 2026, so its position is reported entirely through successor entities; per project convention the register sums the seven successor entities named in this project's own data/registers/DRI.json 31 Mar 2026 snapshot, each individually re-verified against its own fresh Q2 2026 13F-HR. Other, smaller Vanguard-affiliated 13F filers not already named in that snapshot were not independently searched for; see unknowns.
- Capital Group family: all five entities identified in this project's convention (Capital World Investors, Capital International Investors, Capital International Inc/CA, Capital International Sarl, and Capital Research Global Investors) were checked against Darden's CUSIP in their own Q2 2026 13F-HR filings. Capital Research Global Investors holds zero DRI, a sourced zero rather than an omission.
- Wellington Management Group LLP's fresh Q2 2026 13F position (3,884,070 shares) is materially smaller than the 6,848,992 shares (6.00%) the 2026 DEF 14A cites from an earlier Schedule 13G; per project convention (prefer the fresh Q2 13F over a stale 13G quoted in a proxy) the 13F figure is used as the primary sourced value, and both figures are recorded here for reconciliation. Both are on the identical share basis; Darden has had no stock split.
- Shares outstanding (114,077,969) is sourced from the cover page of the latest 10-K (fiscal year ended 31 May 2026, filed 24 Jul 2026): 'Number of shares of Common Stock outstanding as of May 31, 2026: 114,077,969', corroborated by the SEC XBRL dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding time series, which declines smoothly (share buybacks) across the last several quarterly and annual filings with no split-scale discontinuity: 117,026,246 (17 Mar 2025) to 117,033,830 (25 May 2025) to 116,313,762 (15 Sep 2025) to 115,139,249 (15 Dec 2025) to 114,535,003 (16 Mar 2026) to 114,077,969 (31 May 2026). No stock split found or indicated anywhere in this series.
- Market cap ($24.85bn) and share price ($218.86, down 2.94% on the day) are stockanalysis.com's figures as of market close, 18 Aug 2026, 4:00 PM EDT. Cross-check: 114,077,969 shares x $218.86 implies approximately $24.97 billion, close to but not identical to the reported $24.85bn tile figure (stockanalysis.com's market-cap tile may use a slightly different, possibly fully diluted or intraday-cached, share count); both figures are reported here as directly read from the source rather than reconciled to force a match.
- Self-gate, computed the way the chart computes it (all 8 register rows are independent 13F- or proxy-sourced figures with no rolls_up_into relationships in this file, so every row counts at full value): 8 register rows. Capital Group 15,968,740 + Vanguard 14,076,136 + BlackRock 9,781,606 + State Street 5,004,209 + Wellington 3,884,070 + Geode 3,460,025 + T. Rowe Price 552,193 + insiders group 762,475 = 53,489,454 shares, 46.89% of 114,077,969 shares outstanding. This sits slightly above the roughly 25 to 45 percent band the project's own chunk prompt describes as typical, but well below the 55 percent threshold flagged as a likely error; Darden is a heavily institutionally held large-cap restaurant company with a large single active-manager position (Capital Group at just under 14%) and no evidence of double counting, mixed instruments, or a stale share basis was found on any row.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- Vanguard-affiliated 13F filers beyond the seven successor entities enumerated in this project's own data/registers/DRI.json snapshot (for example any further regional Vanguard advisory or trust entities not already captured there) were not independently searched for Darden holdings within the time budget; if any additional entity holds DRI, the true Vanguard family total is somewhat higher than the 14,076,136 shares used here.
- Institutional holders below the top 7 threshold used here (for example JPMorgan Chase, Morgan Stanley, Bank of America, Northern Trust, Raymond James, Charles Schwab Investment Management) were not individually re-verified against a fresh Q2 2026 13F within the time budget; this project's own data/registers/DRI.json (31 Mar 2026 snapshot) lists them at smaller sizes and they were not promoted into this register.
- No equity-method investment, unconsolidated joint venture, non-marketable equity security, strategic investment, or venture-fund vehicle was found anywhere in Darden's FY2026 10-K (filed 24 Jul 2026) despite a full-text search across the terms listed in notes; the holdings array is empty because none exists in the filing, not because the search was incomplete.
- The ownership split (if any) of 'one Yard House restaurant that we jointly own with a third party and operate independently' is not disclosed anywhere in the 10-K (no counterparty name, ownership percentage, or dollar value given), so it could not be sized even as a modelled estimate.
- Value in USD for the insider aggregate register row is null: the 2026 proxy's beneficial ownership table gives a share count and a 'less than 1 percent' designation but no dollar value, and no verified per-share price as of the 31 May 2026 measurement date was sourced separately from the 18 Aug 2026 closing price used elsewhere in this file.
