AIZ · NYSE · CIK 0001267238
Assurant, Inc.
No equity stake in another company appears in Assurant, Inc.'s filings. That is the sourced answer, not a hole in the research.
Assurant, Inc. - Profile
- Sector
- FinancialsGICS
- Industry
- Insurance Carriers, NECSIC 6399
- Listed on
- NYSE
- Employees
- 14,200stated 2024
- Incorporated in
- Delaware
- Financial year ends
- 31 December
Source
Address, industry classification, listing and incorporation come from Assurant, Inc.'s own SEC filer record, so the industry is the SEC's dry classification rather than a marketing label. The website comes from Wikidata. The headcount is the figure the Wikipedia article states for 2024, not a figure this site has verified against a filing. The description is the opening paragraph of its Wikipedia article, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
Share price
AIZ
Description
Assurant, Inc. is a global provider of risk management products and services with headquarters in Atlanta. Its businesses provide a diverse set of specialty, niche-market insurance products in the property, casualty, extended device protection, and preneed insurance sectors. The company's main operating segments are Global Housing and Global Lifestyle.
Who owns Assurant, Inc..
sized by
modelled, reported or pending
Select a row or a slice for its provenance: the filing it came from, when it was measured, and the arithmetic behind it if it was modelled.
The full register, from 13F filings
The Register tab above is hand research: a dozen holders, each traced to the filing it came from. This asks the same question of the whole market for the quarter ended 31-mar-2026, where 568 managers reported a position. Broad where the research is deep, and shallow in the ways a 13F always is.
568 managers reported a position, together holding 47.0m shares, or 94.8% of the company. The 40 largest are listed. Percentages are of the 49.5m shares outstanding at 1 May 2026, the count in force when this quarter was measured rather than the count today.
Built from 13F filings, which report US listed, long, US custodied positions only. A register from this source is a floor rather than a level: a holder's true position can be far larger, as BlackRock's ASML stake shows at 1.28m shares in a 13F against 26.3m in its 13G/A. Holdings held through derivatives, outside US custody, or below a manager's reporting obligation do not appear. Where a holder is marked as a family, its total sums several separate filing entities and describes something no single filing describes; the constituent entities and their share counts are listed so the total can be checked. That roll-up can legitimately exceed the family's own Schedule 13G, because a 13G is filed by one legal entity: Vanguard reports Alphabet through ten advisory entities, and The Vanguard Group Inc itself reported zero after its January 2026 disaggregation.
What a reader needs to know to read these numbers
- HOLDINGS SIDE: no strategic or equity-method stakes in a NAMED operating company were found, and holdings is deliberately an empty array (a sourced finding, not a gap). Searched in full: the newest 10-Q (period 30 Jun 2026, filed 6 Aug 2026, aiz-20260630.htm) and the newest 10-K (FY2025, filed 19 Feb 2026, aiz-20251231.htm, which is the most recent annual filing; the 10-Q is fresher for quarterly figures but the 10-K carries the fuller footnote disclosure) for 'equity method', 'unconsolidated', 'joint venture', 'non-marketable', 'investments in affiliates', 'equity in earnings', 'significant influence' and 'other investments'. Also checked Exhibit 21 of the FY2025 10-K (aiz12312025-ex214q25.htm): it is a bare subsidiary name and jurisdiction list with NO ownership-percentage column, a genuine negative, not evidence of looking in the wrong place.
- INSURER INVESTMENT PORTFOLIO EXCLUDED: Assurant's balance sheet carries a large general-account investment portfolio (fixed maturity securities, equity securities, commercial mortgage loans, short-term investments and 'other investments' totaling $10.46 billion of total investments as of 30 Jun 2026) that backs policy liabilities. This is the insurance analogue of the money-market/index-fund style positions the project brief excludes, and per the project's specific instruction for insurers it is NOT enumerated as holdings here.
- COMBINED BALANCE #1, NOT SIZED TO ANY INVESTEE: 'Real Estate Joint Venture and Other Partnerships' (10-K Note 8, VIE disclosure): the Company invests in real estate joint ventures, limited partnerships and closed-ended real estate funds under the equity method, included within 'other investments'. Combined maximum exposure to loss (carrying value) was $327.2 million at 31 Dec 2025 ($281.2 million at 31 Dec 2024), with $252.4 million of unfunded commitments. No individual investee is named or sized. Per the project's rule against assigning a combined balance to one investee, this is recorded here and in unknowns with no row.
- COMBINED BALANCE #2, NOT SIZED TO ANY INVESTEE: equity investments accounted for under the ASC 321 measurement alternative (non-marketable equity securities without a readily determinable fair value), included within 'other investments' on the balance sheet. Per the 30 Jun 2026 10-Q: initial cost $84.9 million, cumulative upward adjustments $56.1 million, cumulative downward adjustments (including impairments) $(22.8) million, carrying value $118.2 million ($115.3 million at 31 Dec 2025). No individual investee is named or sized. Recorded here and in unknowns with no row.
- CONFIRMED FULL EXIT, NO RETAINED STAKE: the Company sold a real estate joint venture in Q1 2026, recording a $10.2 million gain, called out repeatedly in the FY2025 10-K's MD&A as a driver of higher net investment income; no retained interest is disclosed and this JV is now fully exited, so per the project's rule it is a note, not a null row.
- CONFIRMED FULL EXIT, NO RETAINED STAKE: the Company's mainland China (excluding Hong Kong) operations were sold during 2024 and removed from non-core operations reporting starting Q1 2025; no retained equity interest is disclosed.
- PENDING DIVESTITURES ARE WHOLLY OWNED ASSETS, NOT EQUITY STAKES: (a) a wholly owned subsidiary carrying a fully-reinsured long-term care/runoff book (reinsured to John Hancock Life Insurance Company) was classified as held for sale as of 31 Dec 2025 ($512.4 million assets held for sale, $499.5 million liabilities held for sale); (b) a Miami, Florida real estate property under a pending sale agreement for $126.0 million, carrying value $46.0 million as of 30 Jun 2026, subject to buyer development approvals. Neither is an equity stake in another company; both are the Company's own wholly owned assets being divested, so neither appears as a holding.
- LATIN AMERICA: searched specifically for a Latin American divestiture with a retained minority stake, per the brief's hint, and found none. Global Lifestyle's Latin America geography (Brazil, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, Peru) remains an actively operated, consolidated part of the segment (7.7% of Global Lifestyle revenue in FY2025); it has not been divested. If the brief's reference is to an older, pre-FY2024 transaction, no trace of it (nor of any resulting retained stake) appears in the current 10-K or 10-Q.
- REGISTER SELF-GATE (computed on this final file, chart arithmetic): 11 rows, total raw shares (the insider aggregate row has no rolls_up_into members, so per the chart's rule it counts at full value; no row is a member of another) = 6,532,394 + 5,009,537 + 4,727,930 + 2,541,897 + 2,427,220 + 1,226,729 + 1,417,209 + 1,143,631 + 1,199,305 + 920,398 + 270,302 = 27,416,552 shares, 27,416,552 / 49,323,767 = 55.58% of shares outstanding.
- SELF-GATE ABOVE 55%, CORROBORATED: the project's own 31 Mar 2026 register snapshot (data/registers/AIZ.json) reports 568 filers holding 46,976,173 shares in aggregate, 46,976,173 / 49,323,767 = 95.24% of the company, meaning Assurant is very heavily institutionally held; a concentrated top-11 list summing above 55% is therefore expected rather than anomalous. Per-holder check: every row above lands within a few percent of that same snapshot's independent figure for the same filer family (Vanguard 6,714,173 vs 6,532,394; BNY Mellon 4,816,951 vs 4,727,930; BlackRock 3,945,876 vs 5,009,537, a real quarter-over-quarter rise also corroborated by the DEF 14A's still-lower stale figure of 3,193,491; T. Rowe Price Investment Mgmt 3,272,043 vs 2,427,220, a real decline; State Street 2,531,416 vs 2,541,897; Geode 1,406,786 vs 1,417,209; Invesco 1,226,447 vs 1,226,729; T. Rowe Price Associates 1,146,514 vs 1,143,631; Dimensional 1,125,406 vs 1,199,305; MFS 922,421 vs 920,398), confirming eleven distinct filer families rather than any double count. Denominator check: back-solving from the DEF 14A's own 5%-owner table (Vanguard 6,806,278/13.7%=49,680,861; BNY Mellon 5,091,314/10.2%=49,915,824; T. Rowe Price Investment Mgmt 3,621,858/7.3%=49,614,493; BlackRock 3,193,491/6.4%=49,898,297; State Street 3,048,571/6.1%=49,976,574) lands each time within about 1% of both the proxy's own stated 49,704,916 shares outstanding (as of 17 Feb 2026) and this file's 49,323,767 (as of 31 Jul 2026), confirming the denominator independently.
- CAPITAL GROUP CHECKED, GENUINELY SMALL: checked all three primary registrants (Capital World Investors CIK 0001422849, Capital International Investors CIK 0001562230, Capital Research Global Investors CIK 0001422848) against their own Q2 2026 13F-HR information tables. Only Capital Research Global Investors holds Assurant, at 9,539 shares ($2,561,508), about 0.019% of the company; the other two hold zero. This is a genuinely immaterial position, not a hidden large stake, so it is recorded here rather than as a register row.
- IMPLIED-PRICE CHECK: every register row's implied price (value / shares) as filed clusters at approximately $268.09 to $268.55 per share for the 30 Jun 2026 quarter, after correcting T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc. and T. Rowe Price Investment Management, Inc. for their known values-in-thousands filer quirk (both corrected from a raw implied price of roughly $0.27/sh to approximately $268.50/sh, a 1000x factor, consistent with every other row).
- Coordinator verification of the 55.58 per cent self-gate, marginally above the project's 55 per cent line. Corroborated per holder against this project's own 13F-derived snapshot at data/registers/AIZ.json, built from 568 filers at 31 Mar 2026 and independent of the filings read here: Vanguard 6,714,173 there against 6,532,394 here, BlackRock 3,945,876 against 5,009,537, State Street 2,531,416 against 2,541,897, Geode 1,406,786 against 1,417,209, Invesco 1,226,447 against 1,226,729, T. Rowe Price Investment Management 3,272,043 against 2,427,220 and T. Rowe Price Associates 1,146,514 against 1,143,631. The row worth singling out is The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation at 9.59 per cent, which is unusually large for that holder and was therefore checked twice: the independent snapshot reports it at 4,816,951 shares one quarter earlier against 4,727,930 here, and Assurant's own 2026 DEF 14A separately cites a Schedule 13G/A showing 5,091,314 shares at 10.2 per cent held in fiduciary capacities. Two independent sources therefore agree it is genuinely a near-10 per cent holder. The snapshot reports 46,976,173 shares across 568 filers, approximately 95.2 per cent of the 49,323,767 shares outstanding, so a concentrated top-eleven is consistent rather than anomalous.
Looked for, not found
Recorded rather than filled in. Each of these is a place where a number could have been invented and was not.
- The split of the $327.2 million combined 'real estate joint ventures and other partnerships' carrying value (10-K Note 8) across individual investees is not disclosed; no single joint venture or partnership within it is named or sized.
- The split of the $118.2 million combined non-marketable equity securities carrying value (ASC 321 measurement alternative, 10-Q Note on Investments) across individual investees is not disclosed; no single investee is named or sized.
- Whether the Company retains any minority interest following its Q1 2026 sale of a real estate joint venture, or following the 2024 sale of its mainland China operations, is not addressed either way in the 10-K or 10-Q beyond the gain/loss recognized; the filings describe both as completed sales with no ongoing equity stake mentioned.
- Value_usd for the insider aggregate register row is not disclosed by the proxy (only a share count and percentage of class are given), so it is left null here rather than modelled from an unstated per-share price on the record date.
